COMMITTEE FOR AGRICULTURE AND RURAL DEVELOPMENT MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

THURSDAY 28 MAY 2015 THE BOARDROOM, RURAL COMMUNITY NETWORK, COOKSTOWN

Present: Mr William Irwin MLA (Chairperson)

Mr Joe Byrne MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Tom Buchanan MLA

Mr Ian Milne MLA

Mr Declan McAleer MLA

Apologies: Mr Sydney Anderson MLA

Mrs JoAnne Dobson MLA Mr Tom Elliott MP MLA Mr Kieran McCarthy MLA Mr Oliver McMullan MLA

Mr Poots MLA

In attendance: Ms Stella McArdle, Committee Clerk

Ms Elaine Farrell, Assistant Clerk Mr Mark O'Hare, Clerical Supervisor

10.10 a.m. The meeting commenced in Open Session.

1. Apologies

The apologies are noted above.

2. Chairperson's Business

The Chairperson thanked the Rural Community Network for hosting the Committee meeting in its premises.

3. Oral Briefing DARD: Response to TRPSI Review Position Paper

The following Departmental officials joined the meeting at 10.13 a.m.

Niall Heaney, Grade 7 Sustainable Rural Communities Branch; and Paul Donnelly, Grade 7 Rural Development West Branch.

The officials briefed the Committee and this was followed by a question and answer session.

Agreed:

The Committee agreed to write to the Department to request detailed written updates on each of the recommendations contained in the Committee TRPSI position paper.

4. AOB

Agreed:

The Committee agreed to write to the Minister to express its concern at the lack of urgency in respect of the progress made to date on the Committee recommendations in the TRPSI Position Paper; and to urge her to ensure progress is made in a meaningful way.

5. Date and time of the next meeting

10.42 p.m. The meeting adjourned.

The next meeting of the Committee for Agriculture and Rural Development will take place on Tuesday 2 June 2015 at 1.30 p.m. in Room 30, Parliament Buildings.

William Irwin, Chairperson, Committee for Agriculture and Rural Developmen
Date