COMMITTEE FOR AGRICULTURE AND RURAL DEVELOPMENT

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

TUESDAY 16 MARCH 2015 ROOM 30, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present: Mr William Irwin MLA (Chairperson)

Mr Sydney Anderson MLA

Mr Joe Byrne MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Tom Buchanan MLA Mrs Jo-Anne Dobson MLA

Mr Tom Elliott MLA Mr Ian Milne MLA

Mr Declan McAleer MLA Mr Oliver McMullan MLA

Apologies: Mr Kieran McCarthy MLA

In attendance: Ms Stella McArdle, Committee Clerk

Ms Elaine Farrell, Assistant Clerk

Ms Dagmar Walgraeve, Clerical Officer

12.10 p.m. The meeting commenced in Open Session.

1. Apologies

The apologies are noted above.

2. Oral Briefing DARD: The CAP Basic Payment Scheme

The following Departmental officials joined the meeting at 12.10 p.m.

Pauline Rooney, Acting Director of EU Area Based Schemes Richard Crowe, Head of Countryside Management Unit Teresa O'Neill. Area Based Schemes Payments Development Sharon McFlynn, Head of Area Based Reform Branch Jason Foy, Head of Single Farm Payment The officials briefed the Committee and this was followed by a question and answer session.

- 12.11 p.m. Mr Milne and Mr McMullan joined the meeting.
- 12.15 p.m. Mr McAleer joined the meeting.
- 12.15 p.m. Mr Elliott left the meeting.
- 12.16 p.m. Mr Anderson joined the meeting.
- 12.57 p.m. Mr Elliott rejoined the meeting.

Mrs Dobson declared an interest that her husband is a beef and cereal farmer who receives Single Farm Payment.

- 1.18 p.m. Mr McMullan left the meeting.
- 1.24 p.m. Mr Buchanan left the meeting.
- 1.29 p.m. Mr McMullan rejoined the meeting.
- 1.37 p.m. Mr Milne left the meeting.
- 1.38 p.m. Mr McAleer left the meeting.
- 1.41 p.m. Mr Buchanan rejoined the meeting.
- 1.45 p.m. Mrs Dobson left the meeting.
- 2.02 p.m. Mr Anderson left the meeting.

Mr Elliott declared an interest that he uses online application for his Single Farm Payment.

Mr Irwin declared an interest that he is a recipient of Single Farm Payment.

2.14 p.m. Mr McMullan left the meeting.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department to seek clarification on the issue on grazing licences in the rest of the UK.

3. AOB

There was no other business.

4. Date and time of the next meeting

The next meeting of the Committee for Agriculture and Rural Development will take place on Tuesday 24 March 2015 at 1.30 p.m. in Room 30, Parliament Buildings.

2.30 p.m. The meeting adjourned.

| William Irwin, Chairperson, Committee for Agriculture and Rural Development | |
|---|--|
| | |
| Date | |