

AD-HOC COMMITTEE FOR NORTHERN IRELAND PUBLIC SERVICES OMBUDSPERSON BILL

TUESDAY 19 MAY 2015, 10.30 AM ROOM 21, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS, BALLYMISCAW, STORMONT

Present: Mr Pat Sheehan (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Cathal Boylan Mr Leslie Cree

Mr Colum Eastwood Mr David Hilditch Mr Trevor Lunn

Ms Maeve McLaughlin Mr Alban Maginness Mr Gary Middleton Mr Jim Wells

In Attendance: Ms Claire McCanny (S

Ms Kate McCullough

Mr Jim Nulty

(Senior Assistant Assembly Clerk)

(Assistant Assembly Clerk)

(Clerical Supervisor)

The meeting opened at 10.32am in public session.

1. Apologies:

Lord Morrow

Mr Jim Wells joined the meeting at 10.34am

2. Minutes of the last meeting

The Committee agreed the minutes of the meeting held on Tuesday 12 May 2015.

3. Matters Arising

The Committee noted the information provided by the Bill Team on amendments made to the Bill to date by the Committee for OFMdFM.

Agreed: Members agreed to provide the Secretariat Office with details of their deputy in the event of the appointed member being unable to attend the Committee meeting.

4. NIPSO Bill - Office of the NI Ombudsman, Evidence Session

Agreed: The Committee agreed to invite Mr Peter Tyndall, Ombudsman for Ireland to brief the Committee on 2 June 2015.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to hold a 'Call for Evidence' event on Thursday 28 May 2015.

Witnesses joined the meeting at 10.35am

Ms Maeve McLaughlin joined the meeting at 10.40 am Mr Alban Maginness joined the meeting at 10.55am Mr Leslie Cree left the meeting at 11.02am Mr David Hilditch left the meeting at 11.02am

Members received a briefing Dr. Tom Frawley, Northern Ireland Ombudsman, Ms Marie Anderson, Deputy NI Ombudsman from the Office of the NI Ombudsman.

Key issues discussed included access and signposting of the Ombudsperson office, issues raised during the debate on the Second Stage of the Bill, definition of maladministration, the powers of enforcement of the new Ombudsman particularly in relation to planning, and resources available to the Ombudsperson Office to enable it to undertake its extended remit.

Ms Maeve McLaughlin left the meeting at 11.42am Witnesses left the meeting at 11.43am

5. Correspondence

The Committee noted the information provided from the Committee for the Office of the First and deputy First Minister on correspondence received between the Committee for the First Minister and deputy first Minister and the Minister of Health, Social Services and Public Safety and the Minister of Education regarding the Bill.

The Committee noted the correspondence from HSENI in relation to the replacement of the Health and Safety Agency for NI by the Health and Safety Executive for NI in the Listed Authorities in Schedule 3.

The Committee noted copies of the 'Call for Evidence' which appeared in the local newspapers.

6. Any Other Business

There was no other business discussed.

7. Date, Time and Place of Next Meeting

The next meeting will be 26 May 2015 at 10.30am in Room 21.

The Deputy Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 11.47am

PAT SHEEHAN Deputy Chairperson