

COMMITTEE FOR INFRASTRUCTURE MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

WEDNESDAY, 15 JUNE 2016

THE SENATE CHAMBER, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present: Mr Declan McAleer MLA (Temporary Chairperson)

Ms Kellie Armstrong MLA Mr Alex Easton MLA Mr Paul Girvan MLA Mr Eamonn McCann MLA Mr Fra McCann MLA Mr Justin McNulty MLA Mrs Jenny Palmer MLA

In Attendance: Mrs Cathie White (Assembly Clerk)

Mr Vincent Gribbin (Assistant Assembly Clerk)

Mr Johnny Lawless (Clerical Supervisor)

Apologies: Mr William Humphrey (Chairperson)

Mr William Irwin MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Daniel McCrossan MLA

10:06 am The meeting opened in public session.

Election of Chairperson

In the absence of the Chairperson and the Deputy Chairperson, the Clerk asked members to nominate a temporary Chairperson.

Mr Fra McCann moved the motion, "That Mr Declan McAleer do take the Chair of the Committee".

Mrs Jenny Palmer seconded the motion.

There were no other nominations.

Mr Declan McAleer took the chair.

1. Apologies

Apologies are detailed above.

2. Chairpersons Business

None.

3. Minutes of the meeting held on 8 June 2016

10:08 am Mr Paul Girvan joined the meeting.

Agreed: The minutes of the meeting on 8 June 2016 were agreed.

4. Departmental Briefing – Budget 2016-17 and June Monitoring Round

10:09 am The Departmental officials joined the meeting.

The Committee was briefed Mr John McNeill, Director of Finance, Mr Philip Hamilton, Head of Engineering Services and Mr Stewart Barnes, Head of Financial Planning and Management Branch.

The briefing was followed by a question and answer session.

Agreed: The Departmental officials agreed to provide the Committee with statistics on the ratio of money spent on roads and spent on rail, and ratio of money spent on roads

and spent on public transport and how this is comparable to England, Wales and

Scotland.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to request that Translink provide an update on the purchase

and refurbishment of the Waterside Rail Station at its briefing on 29 June 2016.

Agreed: The Departmental officials agreed to provide the Committee with any details of

medium or long-term plans to re-introduce transport of freight by rail.

11:06 am The Departmental officials left the meeting.

5. Departmental Briefing – Planning, Water & DVA

11:07am The Departmental officials joined the meeting.

The Committee was briefed Ms Fiona McCandless, Deputy Secretary, Mr Angus Kerr, Director of Planning Policy, Mr Paul Duffy, Chief Executive Driver and Vehicle Agency and Ms Linda MacHugh, Director of Water Policy & Shareholder Unit.

11:27 am Ms Kellie Armstrong joined the meeting.

The briefing was followed by a question and answer session.

Agreed: The Departmental officials agreed to provide the Committee with the quarterly statistics on planning applications by council area.

12:25 pm The Departmental officials left the meeting.

6. Correspondence

 Correspondence from the Construction Employers Federation seeking to brief the Committee on its work.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to arrange an informal meeting between the

Federation and the Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson and any interested

members.

• Correspondence from the Committee for the Executive Office providing the Annual Report on Public Bodies and Public Appointments 2014-15.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to note the correspondence.

• Invitation from the Assembly Research and Information Service to the Committee Chairperson, the Deputy Chairperson or another Committee Member to make the Opening Remarks at an Assembly Knowledge Exchange Seminar Series (KESS) Seminar.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to note the invitation.

• The First Report of the Examiner of Statutory Rules for session 2016-17.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to note the Report.

7. Draft Forward Work Programme

The Committee considered the draft Forward Work Programme for the period before summer recess.

Agreed: The Committee agreed for the briefing by Northern Ireland Water to be moved from 22 to 29 June 2016.

Agreed: The Committee agreed that it was content to schedule these briefings.

8. Any Other Business

None.

9. Date, time and place of next meeting

The Committee noted that the next meeting should be held on Wednesday, 22 June 2016 at 10:00 am in The Senate Chamber, Parliament Buildings.

12:27 pm The Chairperson adjourned the meeting.

Mr William Humphrey MLA Chairperson, Committee for Infrastructure

22 June 2016