

Committee for Education

Minutes of Proceedings

3 June 2025

Meeting Location: Room 29 Parliament Buildings

Present: Mr Nick Mathison MLA (Chairperson)

Mr Pat Sheehan MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr David Brooks MLA

Mr Colin Crawford MLA

Mrs Michelle Guy MLA

Ms Cara Hunter MLA

Mr Peter Martin MLA

Mrs Cathy Mason MLA

Mr Danny Baker MLA

Ms Aoibhinn Treanor (Assembly Clerk)

Ms Glenda Doherty (Senior Assistant Clerk)

Mr Mark McQuade (Assistant Clerk)

Mr Jim Nulty (Clerical Supervisor)

Mr Thomas McConville (Clerical Officer)



Apologies: None

The meeting commenced at 4:07pm in public session.

1. Apologies

No apologies were received.

2. Chairperson's Business

There was no Chairperson's business.

3. School Uniforms (Guidelines and Allowances) Bill – Oral Briefing by the Youth Assembly

The Committee noted:

- A briefing paper from the Youth Assembly;
- A UNCRC summary infographic; and
- The Professor Laura Lundy Model of Participation for successful youth engagement

The following witnesses joined the meeting at 4:08pm:

Ms Brooke Ewing, Northern Ireland Youth Assembly Member

Ms Nadia Mackiewicz, Northern Ireland Youth Assembly Member

Mr James Maginn, Northern Ireland Youth Assembly Member

Mr Rory Brown, Northern Ireland Youth Assembly Member

Mr Martin joined the meeting at 4:09pm.

The witnesses provided the Committee with a briefing on the School Uniforms (Guidelines and Allowances) Bill.



Mr Brooks joined the meeting at 4:12pm.

Ms Hunter joined the meeting at 4:13pm.

This was followed by a question and answer session.

The Committee adjourned at 4:51pm.

The Committee resumed at 4:54pm

Ms Hunter left the meeting at 4:54pm.

4. School Uniforms (Guidelines and Allowances) Bill – Oral Briefing by the Northern Ireland Commissioner for Children and Young People Youth Panel

The following witnesses joined the meeting at 4:54pm:

Ms Eva Bradley, representative, Northern Ireland Commissioner for Children and Young People Youth Panel

Ms Bethany McKinley, Northern Ireland Commissioner for Children and Young People Youth Panel

Ms Astrid Knox, Northern Ireland Commissioner for Children and Young People Youth Panel

Ms Rhea Donnell, Northern Ireland Commissioner for Children and Young People Youth Panel

Ms Laura McFall, Participation Officer, Northern Ireland Commissioner for Children and Young People

The witnesses provided the Committee with a briefing on the School Uniforms (Guidelines and Allowances) Bill.

This was followed by a question and answer session.

The Committee adjourned at 5:36pm.

The Committee resumed at 5:44pm



5. School Uniforms (Guidelines and Allowances) Bill – Oral Briefing by the Northern Ireland Commissioner for Children and Young People

The Committee noted a submission from the Northern Ireland Commissioner for Children and Young People on the Bill.

The following witnesses joined the meeting at 5:44pm:

Mr Chris Quinn, Commissioner for Children and Young People, Northern Ireland Commissioner for Children and Young People

Ms Laura McFall, Participation Officer, Northern Ireland Commissioner for Children and Young People

Ms Rachel Woods, Interim Head of Policy, Northern Ireland Commissioner for Children and Young People

The witnesses provided the Committee with a briefing on the School Uniforms (Guidelines and Allowances) Bill.

This was followed by a question and answer session.

Mrs Guy left the meeting at 6:25pm.

6. School Uniforms (Guidelines and Allowances) Bill – Oral Briefing by Diverse Youth NI

The following witnesses joined the meeting at 6:33pm.

Ms Tiwalade Olatunbosun, Representative, Diverse Youth NI

Ms Inioluwa Olaosebikan, Youth Representative, Diverse Youth NI

The witnesses provided the Committee with a briefing on the School Uniforms (Guidelines and Allowances) Bill.

This was followed by a question and answer session.

7. Any Other Business

No other business was discussed.



8. Date, Time and Place of Next Meeting

The next Committee for Education meeting will be held on Wednesday 4 June 2025 at 2:00pm in Room 29, Parliament Buildings.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:13pm.

Nick Mathison MLA Chairperson, Committee for Education 11 June 2025