

Committee for Infrastructure Minutes of Proceedings

28 May 2025

Meeting Location: Moreland Room, Belfast Harbour Commissioners Office,

Harbour Office, Belfast

Present: Mrs Deborah Erskine MLA (Chairperson)

Mr John Stewart MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Cathal Boylan MLA

Mr Keith Buchanan MLA

Mr Andrew McMurray MLA

Mr Peter McReynolds MLA

Apologies: Ms Nicola Brogan MLA

Mr Stephen Dunne MLA

Mr Mark Durkan MLA

In Attendance: Mr Michael Potter (Assembly Clerk)

Mr Tom Armstrong (Assistant Assembly Clerk)

Mr Jonathan Lawless (Clerical Supervisor)

Mr Oliver Briant (Clerical Officer)

The meeting commenced in public session at 10:01 am.



1. Apologies

As above.

2. Declaration of Interests

None.

3. Chairperson's Business

The Chairperson provided the Committee with a summary of the informal meeting with the Utility Regulator on 21 May 2025.

4. Draft Minutes

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the meeting held on

Wednesday, 21 May 2025.

5. Matters Arising

None.



6. Correspondence

Response from the Department for Agriculture, Environment & Rural Affairs to Committee correspondence regarding Waste Water Capacity in Northern Ireland: Compliance and Environmental Matters.

Agreed:

To forward the correspondence to the Minister for Infrastructure to ascertain if her Department is aware of the issues in relation to wastewater in Belfast Lough referred to in the final paragraph of page 4, and, if so, what action is the Department taking to address this issue.

Correspondence from the Committee for the Economy proposing a joint concurrent evidence session on the impact of European Union vehicle emission regulations.

Agreed: To hold a joint concurrent evidence session.

Copy correspondence from the House of Lords NI Scrutiny Committee to the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland regarding an EU Regulation on the emission type approval procedures for light passenger and commercial vehicles.

Agreed: To forward to the Department for comment on the issues raised.

Request from the Committee for Finance for an update on the position of Northern Ireland Waters finances following the scheduled evidence session on 11 June 2025.

Agreed: To provide an update following the evidence session.

Copy correspondence from the Department of Finance providing a copy of the detailed guidance given to departments to facilitate the production of their five-year business plans.

Agreed: To ask Departmental officials for an update at the June Monitoring Round briefing scheduled for 4 June 2025.

The Committee noted the following items of correspondence:

- Response from the Minister for Infrastructure to Committee correspondence requesting information on the attendees at the roundtable discussion on Inclusive Transport and Travel Conference;
- Response from the Minister for Infrastructure to Committee correspondence regarding the Translink Nightmovers Service;



- Response from the Minister for Infrastructure to Committee correspondence regarding the appointment of the forensic accountant for Northern Ireland Water;
- Response from the Minister of Education to Committee's concerns regarding the safety of school children when travelling on buses; and
- Committee for Finance correspondence stating that Department of Finance has formally commissioned returns from all departments in respect of the June Monitoring Round.

7. Consultation on the Review of Trust Ports – Belfast Harbour Commissioners – Oral Evidence

The representatives joined the meeting at 10:09 am:

- Dr Theresa Donaldson, Chair
- Mr Joe O'Neill, Chief Executive
- Mr Maurice Bullick, Executive Director, Finance
- Ms Natasha Sayee, Executive Director, Corporate Affairs and Engagement

The evidence session was reported by Hansard.

The representatives provided an overview of Belfast Harbour Commissioners response to the Consultation on the Review of Trust Ports.

A question and answer session followed.

The representatives left the meeting at 11:20 am.

Agreed: To write to Dfl seeking an update on the timeline for the progressing of the Trust Ports legislation.

The Committee suspended at 11:23 am.



The Committee recommenced in public session at 11:32 am with the following members present:

Present: Mrs Deborah Erskine MLA (Chairperson)

Mr John Stewart MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Cathal Boylan MLA

Mr Keith Buchanan MLA

Mr Andrew McMurray MLA

Mr Peter McReynolds MLA

8. Public Sector Transformation Funding – Department for Infrastructure - Oral Evidence

The Departmental officials joined the meeting at 11:32 am:

- Alistair Beggs Director Transformation Bids, Department for Infrastructure:
- Simon Richardson Director of Sustainable Drainage, Department for Infrastructure; and
- Stuart Wightman Programme Manager, Sustainable Drainage Directorate, Department for Infrastructure.

The evidence session was reported by Hansard.

The departmental officials provided an update on Public Sector Transformation Funding.

A question and answer session followed.

The departmental officials left the meeting at 12:28 pm.



Agreed: To write to the Department seeking:

- The terms of reference for the use of Public Sector Transformation funding for planning and sustainable drainage;
- A disaggregation of how the £3 million allocated for funding is being spent; and
- Details on any the calculation of invest to save outcomes.

9. Clean Water Sports Alliance Northern Ireland- Written Evidence

The Committee considered written evidence from the Clean Water Sports Alliance on calling for adequate funding, real-time water quality monitoring, and policy changes to protect and restore waterways, ensuring the sustainability of water sports and the health of local communities.

Agreed: To schedule an informal meeting with the Committee for Agriculture, Environment & Rural Affairs to discuss the issues raised.

10. Subordinate Legislation – SR's Not subject to Assembly Procedure

The Committee noted the following Statutory Rules that were laid in the Business Office and are not subject to Assembly Proceedings:

- SR 2025-93 The Road Races (Drumhorc Hill Climb) Order (Northern Ireland) 2025;
- SR 2025-94 The Parking Places on Roads (Coaches) (Amendment)
 Order (Northern Ireland) 2025;
- SR 2025-95 The Road Races (Tandragee 100) Order (Northern Ireland) 2025; and
- SR 2025-96 The Road Races (Cairncastle Hill Climb) Order (Northern Ireland) 2025.



11. Forward Work Programme

The Committee considered the draft Forward Work Programme.

Agreed: To proceed with the scheduled evidence as set out in the draft Forward

Work Programme and to reflect to any changes agreed in the course of

the meeting.

Agreed: To attend a joint concurrent meeting with the Committee for

Agriculture, Environment & Rural Affairs on the A5.

12. Any Other Business

None.

13. Date, Time and Place of next meeting

The next meeting will be on Wednesday, 28 May 2025 at 10:00 am in Room 29, Parliament Buildings.

The meeting was adjourned at 12:39 pm.



Mrs Deborah Erskine Chairperson, Committee for Infrastructure

28 May 2025