

Committee for Finance

Minutes of Proceedings

19 February 2024

Meeting Location: Room 29 Parliament Buildings Belfast

Present: Matthew O'Toole MLA (Chairperson)

Diane Forsythe MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Eóin Tennyson MLA

Phillip Brett MLA

Paul Frew MLA

Gerry Carroll MLA

Nicola Brogan MLA

Deirdre Hargey MLA

Steve Aiken MLA

Apologies: None

In Attendance: Peter Hall Committee Clerk

Clairita Frazer Assistant Committee Clerk

Stephen Magee Clerical Supervisor Heather Graham Clerical Officer

The meeting commenced at 12:02pm in public session.

1. Apologies

No apologies were received

2. Declaration of Interests

None.

3. Chairperson's Business

None.

Agreed Members agreed that the Oral Briefing from the Department should be reported by Hansard.

4. The Budget Bill (Northern Ireland) 2024: Oral Briefing from the Department of Finance

The following officials joined the meeting at 12:03pm.

Joanne McBurney, Director, Public Spending Directorate, Department of Finance

Barry Armstrong, Head of Supply, Department of Finance

Angela Ross, Supply Officer, Department of Finance

The officials briefed the Committee on the Budget Bill 2024 and rationale for the request for Accelerated Passage. Officials also provided further information on Executive discussions around the Budget.

The oral evidence was followed by a question and answer session.

The oral evidence session was reported by Hansard.

Steven Aiken left the meeting at 12:21pm.

Philip Brett left the meeting at 12:26pm.

The Chairperson left the meeting at 12:29pm and the Deputy Chairperson assumed the Chair.

The Deputy Chairperson thanked the officials for their attendance and they left the meeting at 12:34pm.

The Committee considered the Department of Finance's request to grant Accelerated Passage for the Budget Bill (Northern Ireland) 2024 and deliberated on whether or not there had been appropriate consultation with it in respect of public expenditure covered by the Bill.

The question was put that the Committee is content to grant Accelerated Passage for the Budget Bill (Northern Ireland) 2024.

The Committee divided: Ayes 5; Noes 1; Abstain 0

AYES: Diane Forsythe, Nicola Brogan, Paul Frew, Deidre Hargey and Eóin Tennyson

NOES: Gerry Carroll

Agreed The Committee agreed that there had been appropriate consultation in respect of public expenditure covered by the Budget Bill (Northern Ireland) 2024; that it should proceed by accelerated passage and that the Chairperson would write to the Speaker to this effect.

5. Any Other Business

None.

6. Date and Time of next meeting

The next Committee meeting will be held on Wednesday 21 February 2024 at 2:30pm in Room 21, Parliament Buildings.

The meeting was adjourned at 12:39pm.

Matthew O'Toole MLA

Chairperson, Committee for Finance

28 February 2024