

### **Committee for Infrastructure**

### **Minutes of Proceedings**

21 May 2025

Meeting Location: Room 29, Parliament Buildings

Present: Mrs Deborah Erskine MLA (Chairperson)	
Mr Cathal Boylan MLA	
Mr Keith Buchanan MLA	
Mr Stephen Dunne MLA	
Mr Andrew McMurray MLA	
Mr Peter McReynolds MLA	
Apologies: Mr John Stewart MLA (Deputy Chairperson)	
Via Video Conference: Ms Nicola Brogan MLA	
Mr Mark Durkan MLA	
In Attendance: Mr Michael Potter (Assembly Clerk)	
Mr Tom Armstrong (Assistant Assembly Clerk	)
Mr Jonathan Lawless (Clerical Supervisor)	
Mr Oliver Briant (Clerical Officer)	

The meeting commenced in public session at 10:03 am.



### 1. Apologies

As above.

### 2. Declaration of Interests

None.

### 3. Chairperson's Business

The Chairperson welcomed the recently launched school bus safety campaign, which the Committee had called for.

The Chairperson welcomed the announcement of the intention to increase funding for community transport services.

Agreed: To write to Dfl for details of the increase in community transport funding.

The Chairperson expressed concern at the recent investigation into the alleged fraudulent issue of some driving licences.

**Agreed:** To write to the Minister for an urgent update on the matter of the allege fraudulent issue of driving licences.

### 4. Draft Minutes

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the meeting held on Wednesday, 21 May 2025.



### 5. Matters Arising

None.

### 6. Correspondence

Correspondence from a member of the public regarding Translink bus services and out of hours contact.

**Agreed:** To forward to Translink for comment on the issues raised.

Correspondence from a member of the public regarding the termination of the contract between the DVA and Worldwide, and associated legal proceedings.

Agreed: To write to the individual suggesting the questions are directed to the Department.

The Committee noted the following items of correspondence:

- Notification of the appointment of a new Chief Planner from the Department for Infrastructure;
- Department for Infrastructure correspondence regarding the Proposed European Register of Road Transport Undertakings (disclosure of information) (amendment) Regulations 2025;
- Report from Mobile UK titled Mobile Infrastructure Investment and UK Economic Growth; and
- Report from Pivotal titled Achieving greater integration in Northern Ireland: young people's voices.



# 7. Funding Implications on the Community Transport Sector - Community Transport Association – Oral Evidence

The representatives joined the meeting at 10:09 am:

- Mr Ian Wilson, Director, Down Armagh Rural Transport Partnership;
- Mr Jason Donaghy, Manager, Fermanagh Community Transport;
- Mrs Frances Campbell, NI Director and Head of Research, Community Transport Association; and
- Mr Michael McNulty, Transport Manager, Disability Action

The evidence session was reported by Hansard.

The representatives provided an overview of current financial situation in the Community Transport Sector and implications of future funding.

A question and answer session followed.

The representatives left the meeting at 11:23 am.

- Agreed: To write to Dfl seeking further detail on cross-departmental meetings to include the membership of the group, frequency of meeting and plans to widen the membership to include stakeholder groups; and
- Agreed To seek the Department's assessment and work undertaken in light of the 2019 High Court ruling in relation to commercial and non-commercial transport ([2019] EWHC 3319).

## 8. Update on Approach to Transport Decarbonisation - Department for Infrastructure – Oral Evidence

The Departmental officials joined the meeting at 10:52 am:

- Ms Sian Kerr, Director of Transport Planning and Policy, Department for Infrastructure;
- Mr James Redmond, Head of Transport Planning & Modelling, Department for Infrastructure;



- Mr David Strain, Head of Transport Decarbonisation Unit, Department for Infrastructure; and
- Ms Orla Gray, Head of Transport Policy, Department for Infrastructure.

The evidence session was reported by Hansard.

The departmental officials provided an update on the Approach to Transport Decarbonisation.

A question and answer session followed.

The departmental officials left the meeting at 12:35 pm.

### 9. Subordinate Legislation – SR's Not subject to Assembly Procedure

The Committee noted the following Statutory Rules that were laid in the Business Office and are not subject to Assembly Proceedings:

- SR 2025-87 The Roads (Speed Limit) (No. 2) Order (Northern Ireland) 2025;
- SR 2025-88 The Loading Bays on Roads (Amendment No. 2) Order (Northern Ireland) 2025; and
- SR 2025-89 The Parking and Waiting Restrictions (Belfast) (Amendment No. 2) Order (Northern Ireland) 2025.

### 10. Subordinate Legislation – SL1s Not subject to Assembly Procedure

The Committee noted the following proposals for Statutory Rules, which are not subject to Assembly Proceedings:



- SL1 The Parking Places (Disabled Persons' Vehicles) (Amendment No. 3) Order (Northern Ireland) 2025;
- SL1 The Parking and Waiting Restrictions (Belfast) Order (Northern Ireland) 2025; and
- SL1 The Waiting Restrictions (Castlerock) Order (Northern Ireland) 2025

### 11. Forward Work Programme

The Committee considered the draft Forward Work Programme.

Agreed: To proceed with the scheduled evidence as set out in the draft Forward Work Programme and to reflect to any changes agreed in the course of the meeting.

### 12. Any Other Business

None.

### 13. Date, Time and Place of next meeting

The next meeting will be on Wednesday, 28 May 2025 at 10:00 am in the Moreland Room, Belfast Harbour Commissioners Office, Harbour Office, 2 Corporation Square, Belfast BT1 3AL.

The meeting was adjourned at 12:39 pm.



Mrs Deborah Erskine Chairperson, Committee for Infrastructure

28 May 2025