In light of the public health situation, Parliament Buildings is closed to the public. No public tours, events or visitor activities will take place, until further notice. 

However, Assembly business continues. Check the business diary for Plenary and Committee meetings.

The Assembly Chamber

Originally the House of Commons of the original Northern Ireland Parliament, the Chamber is now used for plenary meetings of the Assembly.

A fire, caused by an electrical fault, destroyed the Assembly Chamber on the 2nd January 1995. The Chamber was carefully refitted using the same decoration and materials as were used originally. The restoration provided an opportunity to create two additional side galleries thereby doubling the capacity of the 1st floor viewing galleries.

There are 108 Members of the Legislative Assembly (MLAs), 6 from each of the 18 electoral constituencies in Northern Ireland.

Find MLAs


Locate MLAs


News and Media Centre


Read press releases, watch live and archived video

Find out more

Follow the Assembly


Keep up-to-date with the Assembly

Find out more