

Committee for The Executive Office

Minutes of Proceedings

Friday 09 July 2021

Meeting Location: The Senate Chamber, Parliament Buildings

Present:

Mr Colin McGrath MLA (Chairperson)

Mr John Stewart MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Ms Martina Anderson MLA

Mr Trevor Lunn MLA

Mr Pat Sheehan MLA

Ms Emma Sheerin MLA

Mr Christopher Stalford MLA

Present via Video Conferencing:

Ms Diane Dodds MLA

Apologies: Mr George Robinson

In Attendance:

Mr Michael Potter (Assembly Clerk)

Ms Carla Campbell (Assistant Clerk)

Ms Sarah-Anne McKinley (Assistant Clerk)

Ms Alice O'Hare (Clerical Supervisor)

Ms Andrienne Magee (Clerical Officer)



The meeting commenced at 1:56pm in open session

1. Apologies

As Above.

2. UK Exit from EU – Briefing on the current and future workings of the Ireland/Northern Ireland Protocol

The Minister of State and Official joined the meeting at 1:56pm.

- The Rt Hon Lord David Frost CMG, Minister of State, Cabinet Office.
- Ms Rebecca Ellis, Director, Northern Ireland/Ireland Unit, Cabinet Office.

The Minister for State briefed Members on the current and future workings of the Ireland/Northern Ireland Protocol.

Christopher Stalford joined the meeting at 2:07pm.

The oral evidence was followed by a question and answer session.

The Chairperson thanked the Minister and Ms Ellis for their attendance.



3. Draft Minutes

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the meeting held on Wednesday 30 June 2021.

4. Correspondence

- i. The Committee noted a written Ministerial statement from the First Minister and deputy First Minister on the British Irish Council Summit Meeting 11 June 2021.
- ii. The Committee noted a written Ministerial statement from the First Minister and deputy First Minister on the Executive decisions made on 1 July 2021.
- iii. The Committee noted a response from the Executive Office in relation to multiyear funding for community relations.
- iv. The Committee noted a press release from the Executive Office announcing the establishment of a review of the Redress Board.
- v. The Committee noted correspondence from the Speaker of the Northern Ireland Assembly informing Members that a public petition titled "Transforming Dementia Care" had been laid in the Assembly on 29 June 2021 by Colm Gildernew MLA.
- vi. The Committee noted correspondence from the Committee for Infrastructure to the First Minister and deputy First Minister seeking an update on the current position in relation to a Northern Ireland Infrastructure Commission.



- vii. The Committee noted a response from the Department for Communities to the Committee for Communities in relation to a RalSe briefing paper on the High Streets Task Force.
- viii. The Committee noted correspondence from the Committee for the Economy inviting views/comments on the Parental Bereavement (Leave and Pay) Bill.
 - ix. The Committee considered correspondence from the Commission for Victims and Survivors requesting a meeting with the Committee for the Executive Office.
 - Agreed: The Committee agreed to invite the Commission for Victims and Survivors to provide an oral briefing.
 - x. The Committee noted correspondence from the Northern Ireland Assembly EU Affairs Manager providing further information in respect of the dismissal on 30 June 2021 of an application for a judicial review of the Protocol on Ireland/Northern Ireland.
 - xi. The Committee noted correspondence from the Northern Ireland Assembly EU Affairs Manager providing further information in respect of the Subsidy Control Bill which was published on 30 June 2021.
- xii. The Committee noted the Northern Ireland Chamber of Commerce and Industry Quarterly Economic Survey Summary.
- xiii. The Committee noted a draft Committee press release "Assembly Executive Office Committee welcomes briefing from Lord Frost on Protocol".

5. Any Other Business

None.



6. Date, Time and Place of the next meeting

The next Committee meeting will be held on Wednesday 15 September 2021 at 2:00pm, in Room 30, Parliament Buildings.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:17pm.

Colin McGrath MLA
Chairperson, Committee for the Executive Office