The Northern Ireland Assembly has been dissolved. The election will take place on Thursday 5 May 2016.

Assembly Re-elects Speaker and Appoints First and deputy First Minister

Session: 2011/2012

Date: 12 May 2011

Reference: SO 01/11/12

William Hay MLA, re-elected Speaker of the Assembly

Mr William Hay MLA , unanimously re-elected as Speaker of the Northern Ireland Assembly at the first sitting of the 2011-2015 Mandate.

The Northern Ireland Assembly has today re-elected Mr William Hay MLA as Speaker.

Mr Hay’s political career began with his election as a DUP representative to Derry City Council in 1981, in which he has served continuously since, and of which he was Deputy Mayor in 1992 and Mayor in 1993. He was elected to the Northern Ireland Assembly upon its establishment in 1998, representing the Foyle constituency, and has been returned to the Assembly at each election since then.

Mr Hay was the Speaker during the previous 2007 Mandate and was the first Speaker to be elected directly by MLAs, the previous two Speakers appointed by Secretaries of State.

Mr Hay has served on a range of bodies in the statutory and voluntary sector, including the Western Education & Library Board, the Northern Ireland Housing Council, the Londonderry Port and Harbour Commission, and the Policing Board.

Three Deputy Speakers, Mr Francie Molloy MLA, Mr John Dallat MLA and Mr Roy Beggs MLA, who will support the work of the Speaker, were also elected. Mr Molloy and Mr Dallat were elected Deputy Speakers in the previous 2007 Mandate.

In addition, Mr Peter Robinson MLA was appointed to the position of First Minister with Mr Martin McGuinness MP MLA appointed as deputy First Minister.


Find former MLAs


Locate former MLAs


News and Media Centre


Read press releases, watch live and archived video

Find out more

Follow the Assembly


Keep up to date with what’s happening at the Assem

Find out more

Contact information


Contact us for further information about our work.

Contact us