

COMMITTEE FOR REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

THURSDAY 8TH MAY 2014 MULRANNY PARK HOTEL, MULRANNY, CO MAYO

Present:

Mr Sean Lynch MLA (Deputy Chairperson) Mrs Brenda Hale MLA Mr Ross Hussey MLA Mr Declan McAleer MLA Mr Kieran McCarthy MLA

In attendance:

Mr Paul Carlisle (Clerk to the Committee) Mr Gavin Ervine (Assistant Assembly Clerk) Mrs Tara McClafferty (Clerical Supervisor) Mr Michael Donaghy (Clerical Officer)

Apologies:

Mr Jimmy Spratt MLA (Chairperson)
Mr Joe Byrne MLA
Mr John Dallat MLA
Mr Alex Easton MLA
Mr David McNarry MLA
Mr Cathal Ó hOisín MLA

9:38am The meeting commenced in open session

1. Apologies

As above.

2. Chairperson's Business

3. Draft Minutes

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the meeting of 30th April 2014.

4. Correspondence

Members noted the correspondence received.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development regarding the appointment of NI Water Chief Executive.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Committee for Finance and

Personnel regarding the In-Year Monitoring Rounds.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the OFMdFM Committee

regarding PEDU Report on June 2012 Flooding.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the OFMdFM Committee

regarding the Inquiry into the Barosso Task Force and agreed to make a

submission to the Inquiry.

5. Great Western Greenway Briefing: Inquiry into the Benefits of Cycling to the Economy

9:41am The following representatives joined the meeting

Padraig Philbin – Enterprise and Investment Unit, Mayo County Council Suzanne O'Brien – Managing Director, Construction Employers Federation Sean Kelly – Kelly's Butchers, Newport Travis Zeray – Clew Bay Bike Hire

The representatives presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

10:01am Mr Hussey left the meeting

10:14am Mr Hussey re-joined the meeting

10:23am Mr McAleer left the meeting

10:37am Mr McAleer re-joined the meeting

10:51am Mrs Hale left the meeting

11:01am	Mrs Hale re-joined the meeting
11:10am	Mr Hussey left the meeting
11:16am	Mr Hussey re-joined the meeting
11:25am	Mrs Hale left the meeting
11:31am	Mrs Hale re-joined the meeting
11:49am	The representatives left the meeting

6. Subordinate Legislation not Subject to Assembly Procedure

Members noted:

- The Waiting Restrictions (Banbridge) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014
- The Road Races (Dungannon Bush Motorcycle Race) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014
- The Road Races (Garron Point Hill Climb) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014
- The Road Races (Armoy Motorcycle Race) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014

7. SL1: The U232 Aghafad Road, (Rubble Road), Newtownstewart (Abandonment) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014

Agreed: That the Committee for Regional Development is content with the merits of the policy proposal.

8. SL1: The B162 Disert Road, Draperstown (Abandonment) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014

Agreed: That the Committee for Regional Development is content with the merits of the policy proposal.

9. Any Other Business

10. Date of the next meeting

The next meeting of the Committee will be Wednesday $14^{\rm th}$ May 2014 at 9:30am in Room21, Parliament Buildings.

11:51am The meeting was adjourned

.....

Mr Jimmy Spratt MLA Chairperson, Committee for Regional Development 28/05/14