

COMMITTEE FOR THE ENVIRONMENT

DRAFT MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

THURSDAY, 12 JUNE 2014

LONG GALLERY, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present: Ms Anna Lo MLA (Chairperson)

Mrs Pam Cameron MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Cathal Boylan MLA Mr Colum Eastwood MLA

Mr Tom Elliott MLA Mr Ian McCrea MLA Mr Barry McElduff MLA Mr Alban Maginness MLA

Mr Ian Milne MLA Lord Morrow MLA Mr Peter Weir MLA

In Attendance: Mrs Sheila Mawhinney (Assembly Clerk)

Ms Suzie Cave (Researcher)

Mr Neil Sedgewick (Assistant Assembly Clerk) Mr George McClelland (Clerical Supervisor) Ms Allison Ferguson (Clerical Officer)

Apologies: None

The meeting began in public session at 10:30.

1. Apologies

There were no apologies.

2. Inquiry into Wind Energy Stakeholder Event

The Chairperson welcomed Members and attendees to the event and advised that the main focus of the event was on the third term of reference of the Committee's Inquiry into Wind Energy; namely on the extent of engagement by wind energy providers with local communities and how this engagement may best be promoted.

Evidence was taken on three separate areas of the term of reference;

- On how changes at a strategic level of government might lead to clearer, more coherent and transparent policy resulting in greater community understanding and engagement;
- On how the current the planning and application process is working and how it might be improved, and;
- On whether community benefits is a valid way of compensating those who live in close proximity to wind developments and how a different approach would possibly be more effective.

Evidence was given by attendees and was recorded by Hansard; attendees at the event are listed at the addendum.

3. Date, time and place of next meeting

The next meeting will be held on 19th June 2014 at 10:00 in the Senate Chamber, Parliament Buildings.

The Chairperson adjourned the event at 12.55.

Anna Lo, MLA Chairperson, Committee for the Environment 19 June 2014

Addendum:

Stakeholders who attended the event were:

Jonathan Bell - Northern Ireland Environment Link,

Vicky Boden - SSE Renewables,

Cllr Sean Clarke - Cookstown District Council,

Aine Coyle – TCI Renewables,

Jason Devine - Lisnaharney Area Residents' Group,

Graeme Dunwoody - Fermanagh Trust,

Keith Graham and Pauline Graham,

Joy Hargie - DOE Planning Service,

Michael Harris – DETI,

Helen Harrison - Juno Planning,

Lynda Hutton - Fermanagh District Council,

Cllr Patsy Kelly - Strabane & Omagh District Council Wind Farm Working Group,

Mervyn Keys – WindwatchNI,

Orlaith Kirk - Juno Planning,

Adam Larkin - Strategic Planning,

Mary Lavery – DETI,

David Manning - SSE Renewables,

Ryan McBirney - Strategic Planning,

Victoria McCabe - First Flight Wind Ltd,

Shanti McCallister - Landscape Institute Northern Ireland,

Lauri McCusker - Fermanagh Trust,

Cllr Kieran McGuire - Strabane & Omagh District Council Wind Farm Working Group,

Deirdre McSorley - DOE Planning Service,

Pete Mullin - Landscape Institute Northern Ireland,

Fergal O'Donnell - Rural Community Network,

Gary Preston – TCI Renewables,

Desmond Reid - Fermanagh District Council,

Raymond Smith - Chief Environmental Health Officers Group NI,

Helen Richmond - DOE Planning Service,

Scott Symington - DOE Planning Service,

Shauna Ward - Lisnaharney Area Residents' Group,

Lucy Whitford – RES and

Sacha Workman - First Flight Wind Ltd.