

COMMITTEE FOR REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

WEDNESDAY 23 SEPTEMBER 2015 ROOM 21, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present:

Mr Trevor Clarke MLA (Chairperson) Mr Alex Easton MLA Ms Claire Hanna MLA Mr Chris Lyttle MLA Mr Declan McAleer MLA Mr David McNarry MLA Mr Stephen Moutray MLA Mr Adrian Cochrane Watson MLA

In attendance:

Mr Paul Carlisle (Clerk to the Committee) Ms Pamela Carson (Assistant Assembly Clerk) Ms Christine Dodson (Clerical Supervisor) Mr Barry McLernon (Clerical Officer)

Apologies:

Mr Sean Lynch MLA (Deputy Chairperson) Mr John Dallat MLA Mr Cathal Ó hOisín MLA

10:08am The meeting commenced in open session

1. Apologies

As above.

2. Chairperson's Business

The Chair outlined the meeting with CEF on 21 September 2015 regarding issues relating to the Water & Sewerage Services Bill.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to invite CEF to provide a briefing on the issues.

3. Draft Minutes: Meeting of 16 September 2015

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the meeting of 16 September 2015.

4. Correspondence

Members noted the correspondence received.

5. Translink Briefing – Budget Pressures and Service Provision

10.12am The following officials joined the meeting

- Mr Chris Conway, Chief Executive, Translink
- *Mr Philip O'Neill, Chief Operating Officer, Translink*
- Mr Gordon Milligan, Chief Human Resources & Corporate Services Officer
- Mr John McGrath, Deputy Secretary, Department for Regional Development

Members were briefed on discussions between Translink and Unite in relation to budget pressures and service provision.

10.15am Mr McNarry joined the meeting

10.38am Mr Easton joined the meeting

6. Update on Bus Lanes

- 10.40am The following officials joined the meeting
 - *Mr Ciarán de Burca, Director of Transport Projects Division, Department for Regional Development*
 - *Mr Sean McConnell, Acting Head of Parking Enforcement Unit, Department for Regional Development*

Officials provided an update on bus lanes including the volume of fines issued from fixed cameras and a mobile camera units.

11.00am The meeting was suspended to allow officials to locate papers.

11.10am The meeting ressumed.

11.23am	Ms Hanna left the meeting.
11.30am	Mr Cochrane Watson left the meeting.
11.36am	Mr Moutray left the meeting.
Agreed:	Further statistics to be provided to the Committee on trends and patterns of fines.
Agreed:	Details on towing vehicles parked in the bus lanes to be checked with the PSNI.

7. Update on the Cycling Unit

- 11.42am The following officials joined the meeting
 - Dr Andrew Grieve, Head of Cycling Unit, Department for Regional Development
 - Ms Claire Mulvenna, Cycling Unit, Department for Regional Development
 - Ms Orla Campbell, Cycling Unit, Department for Regional Development

The Committee received an update on the work of the Cycling Unit.

- 11.42am Mr McNarry left the meeting
- 11.46am Mr McNarry rejoined the meeting
- Agreed: A PDF copy of the Cycling Plan to be forwarded to the Committee.

8. Inquiry into Committee Primary Legislation on the Consumer Council

- 12.28pm The following officials joined the meeting
 - Mr John French, Chief Executive, Consumer Council Northern Ireland
 - Mr Scott Kennerley, Head of Transport, Consumer Council Northern Ireland

The Committee received a briefing from The Consumer Council in regards to developing Primary Legislation.

Agreed: Consumer Council Northern Ireland to check statutory powers in other jurisdictions.

9. End of Session Report

Agreed: Members agreed the Membership and Overview section of the Report.

Agreed:	Members agreed the Primary Legislation and Subordinate Legislation sections of the Report.
Agreed:	Members agreed the Inquiries section of the report.
Agreed:	Members agreed the Budget Scrutiny and Policy Scrutiny sections of the report.
Agreed:	Members agreed the Engagement section of the report.
Agreed:	Members agreed the Committee Motions section of the report.
Agreed:	Members agreed the Key Priorities for the Next Session section of the report.
Agreed:	Members agreed Annex A (financial information) to the report.
Agreed:	Members agreed to publish the Committee's End of Session report for 2014/15 on the NI Assembly Website.
12.22	Mr McAleer left the meeting.

10. Any Other Business

Date of the next meeting

The next meeting of the Committee will be Wednesday 30 September 2015 at 10:00am in Room 21, Parliament Buildings.

12.47pm The meeting was adjourned.

.....

Mr Trevor Clarke MLA Chairperson, Committee for Regional Development 23/09/15