

COMMITTEE FOR REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

WEDNESDAY 16 SEPTEMBER 2015 ROOM 21, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present:

Mr Trevor Clarke MLA (Chairperson)

Mr Sean Lynch MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Alex Easton MLA

Mr John Dallat MLA

Ms Claire Hanna MLA

Mr Cathal Ó hOisín MLA

Mr Chris Lyttle MLA

Mr Declan McAleer MLA

Mr David McNarry MLA

Mr Stephen Moutray MLA

In attendance:

Mr Paul Carlisle (Clerk to the Committee)

Ms Pamela Carson (Assistant Assembly Clerk)

Ms Christine Dodson (Clerical Supervisor)

Mr Barry McLernon (Clerical Officer)

Apologies:

10:04am Mr Lynch assumed the role of Chairperson

10:04am The meeting commenced in open session

1. Apologies

As above.

2. Chairperson's Business

The Deputy Chair outlined the meeting with NI Water on 15 September 2015 regarding their Annual Report and Accounts.

3. Draft Minutes: Meeting of 9 September 2015

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the meeting of 9 September 2015.

4. Correspondence

Members noted the correspondence received.

Agreed: Peter Close, Northern Ireland Environment Agency, and the Institute of Civil Engineers to brief the Committee on SuDS.

Agreed: The Clerk respond to the Environment Committee in respect of NI Environment Week.

Agreed: NI Water Annual Report and Accounts are forwarded to Research and Information Services for further scrutiny and that a presentation on the Annual Report and Accounts is scheduled for a future meeting.

5. Future of Translink

10.07am The following official joined the meeting

• Mr David Strahan, Chief Executive of Translink

Members were briefed on the future of Translink by the outgoing Chief Executive of Translink, Mr David Strahan.

10.09am	Mr Clarke joined the meeting and assumed the role of Chairperson
10:12am	Mr Moutray joined the meeting
10.16am	Mr McAleer left the meeting.
10.18am	Mr McAleer rejoined the meeting
10.23am	Mr McNarry joined the meeting
10.35am	Mr Lyttle joined the meeting
10.43am	Ms Hanna left the meeting

6. Department Governance Arrangements

10.43am The following official joined the meeting

• Mr Peter May, Permanent Secretary, DRD

10.46am Ms Hanna rejoined the meeting

The Committee was informed that the Belfast Rapid Transport project has been delayed for one year until August 2018.

Agreed: Project Assessment Review for Belfast Rapid Transport (BRT) to be forwarded

to the Committee.

Agreed: Quarterly updates on the progress of BRT to be provided to the Committee.

Agreed: The Committee to write to the Minister of Finance and Personnel regarding

the delay with Belfast Rapid Transit (BRT).

11.13am Mr Easton Joined the meeting.

11.25am Mr McNarry left the meeting.

11.33am Mr McNarry rejoined the meeting.

11.34am Mr Lyttle left the meeting.

7. Department of Regional Development Accounts 2014-15

- 11.39am The following officials joined the meeting
 - Mr Peter May, Permanent Secretary, DRD
 - Mr John McNeill, Finance Director, DRD
 - Ms Brighdin McAleenan, Financial Accounting Branch, DRD
 - Ms Barbara Faloona, Water Policy & Shareholder Division, DRD

Officials answered questions on the Department of Regional Development Accounts 2014-15.

11.43am Mr McAleer left the meeting.

11.44am Mr Lyttle rejoined the meeting.

11.52am Mr McAleer rejoined the meeting.

11.54am Mr Lynch left the meeting.

Agreed: More information relating to the increase in staff costs from the 2013-14 to

be provided by the Department.

Agreed: A breakdown of staff absences for the last 3 years to be provided by the

Department.

Agreed: A copy of the letter to Translink requesting additional information to be

provided in its Annual report and Accounts to be forwarded to the Permanent

Secretary.

Agreed: A briefing on Strategic Drainage to be provided at a future meeting.

12.03pm Mr Moutray left the meeting.

12.07pm Ms Hanna left the meeting.

12.17pm Mr Easton left the meeting.

8. Any Other Business

12.19pm Mr Moutray rejoined the meeting.

Agreed: Press Release relating to the delay in the Belfast Rapid Transit project was

agreed for issue.

Date of the next meeting

The next meeting of the Committee will be Wednesday 23 September 2015 at 10:00am in Room 21, Parliament Buildings.

12.22 The meeting was adjourned.

.....

Mr Trevor Clarke MLA Chairperson, Committee for Regional Development 23/09/15