

COMMITTEE FOR REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

WEDNESDAY 9 SEPTEMBER 2015 ROOM 21, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present:

Mr Trevor Clarke MLA (Chairperson)
Mr Sean Lynch MLA (Deputy Chairperson)
Mr Adrian Cochrane-Watson MLA
Mr Alex Easton MLA
Mr John Dallat MLA
Ms Claire Hanna MLA
Mr Cathal Ó hOisín MLA
Mr Chris Lyttle MLA

In attendance:

Mr Trevor Allen (Senior Assistant Clerk)
Ms Pamela Carson (Assistant Assembly Clerk)
Ms Christine Dodson (Clerical Supervisor)
Mr Barry McLernon (Clerical Officer)

Apologies:

Mr Declan McAleer MLA Mr David McNarry MLA

10:08am Mr Lynch assumed the role of Chairperson

10:08am The meeting commenced in open session

1. Apologies

As above.

2. Chairperson's Business

10.09 Mr Clarke joined the meeting and assumed the role of Chairperson

The Committee welcomed Ms Hanna and thanked Mr Byrne for his service to the Committee.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to Mr Byrne to thank him for his contribution.

3. Draft Minutes: Meeting of 8 July 2015 and 27 August 2015

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the meeting of 8 July 2015 and 27

August 2015.

4. Correspondence

Members noted the correspondence received.

Agreed: Members agreed to invite the Construction Employers Federation to a future

meeting to receive a briefing on their Policy Work Programme.

5. Strategic Planning 2015-16

10:15am Mr Lyttle joined the meeting

Members discussed the Strategic Planning session held in Cookstown on 1st and 2nd September 2015.

6. SL1: The Glebe Way, Moira (Abandonment) Order (Northern Ireland) 2015

Agreed: Members agreed and are content for the Department make a Statutory Rule

under powers conferred by Article 68 of the Roads (Northern Ireland) Order 1993.

7. SL1: The Cusher Road (U8048) and Glenanna Road (C313), Loughgilly (Abandonment) Order (Northern Ireland) 2015

Agreed: Members agreed and are content for the Department to make a Statutory Rule

under powers conferred by Article 68 of the Roads (Northern Ireland) Order 1993.

8. Subordinate Legislation not Subject to Assembly Procedure

Members noted:

- The Bus Lanes (Falls Road, Belfast Between Grosvenor Road and Whiterock Road)
 Order (Northern Ireland) 2015
- The Roads (Speed Limit) (No.3) Order (Northern Ireland) 2015
- The Parking and Waiting Restrictions (Banbridge) (Amendment) Order (NI) 2015
- Prohibition of Waiting (Amendment No 2) (Belfast) 2015
- The Parking and Waiting Restrictions (Dungannon) Order (Northern Ireland) 2015

• The Parking and Waiting Restrictions (Cathedral Quarter, Belfast) Order (Northern Ireland) 2015

The Committee discussed the issue of bus lanes in Belfast, the penalty notices issued and the potential long term consequences for outlying areas.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to invite the Department to brief Members on the

excessive numbers of fines in the Belfast area and previous issues identified

resulting in the scrapping of fines.

9. Any Other Business

Agreed: The Committee agreed to invite the Permanent Secretary to the Committee to

provide an update on governance and key issues in the absence of a Minister.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to invite the Cycling Unit to brief the Committee on the

recently launched 'Cycling Strategy'.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to invite the outgoing Chief Executive of Translink to a

future meeting.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to send their best wishes for a speedy recovery to the

Clerk, Paul Carlisle.

Date of the next meeting

The next meeting of the Committee will be Wednesday 16 September 2015 at 10:00am in Room 21, Parliament Buildings.

10.28 The meeting was adjourned.

Mr Trevor Clarke MLA
Chairperson, Committee for Regional Development

16/09/15