

COMMITTEE FOR REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

WEDNESDAY 3RD DECEMBER 2014 ROOM 21, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present:

Mr Trevor Clarke MLA (Chairperson)

Mr Sean Lynch MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr John Dallat MLA

Mr Ross Hussey MLA

Mr Chris Lyttle MLA

Mr David McNarry MLA

Mr Stephen Moutray MLA

Mr Cathal Ó hOisín MLA

In attendance:

Mr Paul Carlisle (Clerk to the Committee)

Mr Gavin Ervine (Assistant Assembly Clerk)

Ms Christine Dodson (Clerical Supervisor)

Mr Barry McLernon (Clerical Officer)

Apologies:

Mr Joe Byrne MLA

Mr Declan McAleer MLA

10:11am The meeting commenced in open session

10:11am The Deputy Chairperson assumed the role of Chairperson

1. Apologies

As above.

2. Chairperson's Business

The Deputy Chairperson reminded Members that the motion to extend the Committee Stage of the Off-Street Parking (Functions of District Councils) Bill was scheduled for Monday 1st December 2014, but was not moved.

3. Draft Minutes

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the meeting of 26th November 2014.

4. Correspondence

Members noted the correspondence received.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from Minister Danny Kennedy to

Dominic Bradley MLA regarding Rail the Way for Armagh Petition.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development regarding Committee queries on the appointment of Belfast

Harbour Commissioners.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development regarding cost of transfer of car parks and agreed to include

this in the Bill report.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Consumer Council regarding

the Business Plan 2015-16.

Agreed: The Committee noted holding correspondence from the Department for

Regional Development regarding Committee queries on Rail Track Inquiry

and Off-Street Parking.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development regarding Committee queries on the Off-Street Parking Bill and

agreed to include this in the Bill report.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development to Research regarding queries on transport interventions applicable to people with Down's syndrome or people with learning

difficulties.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from North Down and Ards District

Council requesting to brief the Committee on issues surrounding

Donaghadee Harbour and agreed to arrange a briefing.

5. Subordinate Legislation not Subject to Assembly Procedure

Members noted:

- The Parking and Waiting Restrictions (Armagh) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014
- The Parking Places (Disabled Persons' Vehicles) (Amendment No 6) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014
- The Waiting Restrictions (Carrickfergus) (Amendment No 2) Order (Northern Ireland)
 2014

10:15am The Committee adjourned

10:17am The Committee recommenced in closed session

The following Members were present: Mr Sean Lynch MLA (Deputy Chairperson), Mr John Dallat MLA, Mr Ross Hussey MLA, Mr David McNarry MLA, Mr Cathal Ó hOisín MLA.

6. Off-Street Parking (Functions of District Councils) Bill: Legal Advice on Proposed Committee Amendment

10:17am The following officials joined the meeting

Eilis Haughey – Bill Office, NI Assembly Stephanie Mallon – Bill Office, NI Assembly

The officials presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above.

10:18am Mr Clarke joined the meeting and assumed the role of Chairperson

10:28am Mr Lyttle joined the meeting

10:46am Mr Lynch left the meeting

10:48am Mr Lynch re-joined the meeting

10:55am The officials left the meeting

Agreed: The Committee agreed that it would not seek to amend the Off Street

Parking (Transfer of Functions to District Councils) Bill at this stage.

5. NI Assembly Research and Information Services Briefing: Financial Scrutiny

10:56am The following official joined the meeting

Michael Scholes – RalSe, NI Assembly

The official presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above.

10:57am Mr McNarry left the meeting

11:04am Mr McNarry re-joined the meeting

11:32am The official left the meeting

11:32am The Committee moved into open session

9. Department for Regional Development Briefing: Budget 2015/16

11:33am The following officials joined the meeting

Peter May – Permanent Secretary, DRD

John McGrath – Deputy Secretary, Finance, Resources and Water Policy, DRD

Dr Andrew Murray – Chief Executive, Transport NI

Deborah McNeilly – Director of Finance, DRD

The officials presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

12:02pm	Mr Lyttle left the meeting
12:03pm	Mr Hussey left the meeting
12:04pm	Mr Ó hOisín left the meeting
12:04pm	The Committee was inquorate
12:15pm	Mr Hussey re-joined the meeting
12:15pm	The Committee was once again quorate
12:15pm	Mr Ó hOisín re-joined the meeting
12:16pm	Mr Dallat left the meeting
12:21pm	Mr Moutray joined the meeting
12:39pm	Mr Hussey left the meeting

1:08pm Mr Lyttle re-joined the meeting

1:18pm The officials left the meeting

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department to request an indicative

list of the towns and rural roads which will have bus services or maintenance

withdrawn.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department to request further

information listing all assets which are producing a resource/revenue and the

size of the resource/revenue for the last three years to date.

10. Any Other Business

Mr Lyttle declared an interest as Chairperson of the All Party Group on Cycling.

Mr Lyttle raised the issue of the Departmental Bicycle Strategy and the Committee report on the Inquiry into the Benefits of Cycling to the Economy.

11. Date of the next meeting

The next meeting of the Committee will be Monday 8th December 2014 at 12:30pm in the Senate Chamber, Parliament Buildings

1:22pm The meeting was adjourned

.....

Mr Trevor Clarke MLA Chairperson, Committee for Regional Development 10/12/14