

COMMITTEE FOR REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

WEDNESDAY 19TH NOVEMBER 2014 PARK AVENUE HOTEL, BELFAST

Present:

Mr Trevor Clarke MLA (Chairperson) Mr Sean Lynch MLA (Deputy Chairperson) Mr John Dallat MLA Mr Chris Lyttle MLA

Mr Declan McAleer MLA

Mr David McNarry MLA

Mr Stephen Moutray MLA

Mr Cathal Ó hOisín MLA

In attendance:

Mr Paul Carlisle (Clerk to the Committee) Mr Gavin Ervine (Assistant Assembly Clerk) Ms Christine Dodson (Clerical Supervisor) Mr Barry McLernon (Clerical Officer)

Apologies:

Mr Ross Hussey MLA

09:45am The meeting commenced in open session

1. Apologies

As above.

- 2. Chairperson's Business
- 3. Draft Minutes

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the meeting of 12th November 2014.

4. Correspondence

Members noted the correspondence received.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from Minister Danny Kennedy

regarding a Statement on North/South Ministerial Council.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development regarding the Equality Unit Biannual Progress Report.

Agreed: The Committee noted a copy of IMTAC Report on Newry Walking Audit.

Agreed: The Committee noted updated correspondence from Minister Danny

Kennedy regarding a Statement on North/South Ministerial Council.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department for Regional

Development regarding the experimental tidal urban clearway on Lisburn

Road.

Agreed: The Committee a copy of IMTAC Public Transport Survey.

5. SL1: The Templemore Avenue, Belfast (Footpath) (Abandonment) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014

Agreed: That the Committee for Regional Development is content with the merits of

the policy proposal.

6. Subordinate Legislation not Subject to Assembly Procedure

Members noted:

 Proposed Parking and Waiting Restrictions (Belfast) (Amendment) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014

7. Inquiry into the Coleraine to Londonderry Rail Track Phase Two Project

The Chairperson highlighted that a specialist advisor had been identified in relation to the technical aspects of the Inquiry.

Agreed: The Committee agreed the appointment of the specialist advisor for the

duration of the Inquiry, subject to the business case.

8. Belfast City Council Briefing: Off-Street Parking (Functions of District Councils) Bill

09:57am The following representatives joined the meeting

Siobhan Toland – Head of Environmental Health/Lead Operations Officer for HES Department, Belfast City Council
Damian Connolly – Environmental Health Manager, Belfast City Council
Mark McBride – Head of Finance and Performance, Belfast City Council
Cathy Reynolds – Estates Manager, Belfast City Council

The representatives presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

10:01am	Mr Lyttle joined the meeting
10:24am	Mr McNarry left the meeting
10:28am	Mr McAleer left the meeting
10:30am	Mr McAleer re-joined the meeting
10:39am	Mr McAleer left the meeting
10:40am	Mr Dallat left the meeting
10:40am	The Committee was inquorate
10:44am	Mr Dallat re-joined the meeting
10:44am	The Committee was once again quorate
10:47am	The representatives left the meeting

9. Antrim and Newtownabbey District Council Briefing: Off-Street Parking (Functions of District Councils) Bill

10:48am The following representatives joined the meeting

Hugh Kelly – Deputy Chief Executive/Director of Environment Services Paul Casey – Information Governance Officer

The representatives presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

The Chairperson declared an interest as his wife is a member of Antrim and Newtownabbey District Council

10:59am The representatives left the meeting

10:59am The Committee adjourned

11:11am The meeting recommenced in open session

The following Members were present: Mr Trevor Clarke MLA (Chairperson), Mr Sean Lynch MLA (Deputy Chairperson), Mr John Dallat MLA, Mr Chris Lyttle MLA, Mr Declan McAleer MLA, Mr Stephen Moutray MLA, Mr Cathal Ó hOisín MLA.

10. Mid and East Antrim District Council Briefing: Off-Street Parking (Functions of District Councils) Bill

11:11am The following representatives joined the meeting

Anne Donaghy – Chief Executive, Mid and East Antrim District Council
Cllr Timothy Gaston – Deputy Presiding Councillor, Mid and East Antrim District Council
Cllr Gordon Lyons – Chairman of Planning Committee, Mid and East Antrim District Council
Cllr Tommy Nicholl MBE – Chairman of Community Planning Committee, Mid and East
Antrim District Council

The representatives presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

The Chairperson declared an interest as a constituent of Mid and East Antrim District Council

11:16am Mr Ó hOisín left the meeting

11:23am Mr Ó hOisín re-joined the meeting

11:44am Mr Moutray left the meeting

11:51am Mr Moutray re-joined the meeting

11:55am The representatives left the meeting

Agreed: The Committee agreed to table a motion in the Business Office to extend the

Committee Stage of the Bill.

11. Northern Ireland Local Government Association Briefing: Off-Street Parking (Functions of District Councils) Bill

11:56am The following representatives joined the meeting

Derek McCallan – Chief Executive, NILGA Alderman Arnold Hatch – Vice-President, NILGA Stephen Reid – Chief Executive, North Down & Ards District Council Cllr John O'Kane – Fermanagh District Council

The representatives presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

12:11pm	Mr Lyttle left the meeting
12:13pm	Mr McAleer left the meeting
12:16pm	Mr McAleer re-joined the meeting
12:20pm	The representatives left the meeting
12:21pm	The Committee adjourned
12:58pm	The meeting recommenced in open session

The following Members were present: Mr Trevor Clarke MLA (Chairperson), Mr Sean Lynch MLA (Deputy Chairperson), Mr John Dallat MLA, Mr Cathal Ó hOisín MLA.

12:58pm The Committee was inquorate

12. NI Water Briefing: Winter Service Preparations 2014/2015

12:58pm The following officials joined the meeting

Sara Venning – Chief Executive, NI Water Alec McQuillan – Acting Director Customer Service Delivery, NI Water

The officials presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

1:00pm Mr McAleer re-joined the meeting

1:00pm The Committee was once again quorate

1:29pm The officials left the meeting

13. Department for Regional Development Briefing: Winter Service Preparations 2014/2015

1:30pm The following officials joined the meeting

Dr Andrew Murray – Chief Executive, NI Transport, DRD Roddy Crilly – Transport NI, DRD

The officials presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

1:32pm Mr Dallat left the meeting

1:32pm The Committee was inquorate

2:04pm The officials left the meeting

14. Any Other Business

15. Date of the next meeting

The next meeting of the Committee will be Wednesday 26th November 2014 at 8:30am in the Lough Erne Hotel, Enniskillen.

2:05pm The meeting was adjourned

.....

Mr Trevor Clarke MLA Chairperson, Committee for Regional Development 26/11/14