

COMMITTEE FOR REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

WEDNESDAY 4TH DECEMBER 2013 LINDESAY HALL TRAINING SUITE, LOUGHRY COLLEGE, COOKSTOWN

Present:

Mr Jimmy Spratt MLA (Chairperson)
Mr Sean Lynch MLA (Deputy Chairperson)
Mr Alex Easton MLA
Mrs Brenda Hale MLA
Mr Declan McAleer MLA
Mr Cathal Ó hOisín MLA

In attendance:

Mr Paul Carlisle (Clerk to the Committee) Mr Gavin Ervine (Assistant Assembly Clerk) Ms Tara McKee (Clerical Supervisor) Ms Alison Ferguson (Clerical Officer)

Apologies:

Mr Joe Byrne MLA Mr John Dallat MLA Mr Ross Hussey MLA Mr Kieran McCarthy MLA Mr David McNarry MLA

10:39am The meeting commenced in open session

1. Apologies

As above.

2. Chairperson's Business

None.

3. Draft Minutes

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the meeting of 27th November 2013.

4. Correspondence

Members noted the correspondence received.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Committee for Agriculture

and Rural Development regarding the Lough Neagh Cross Departmental

Working Group.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from NILGA regarding the

Committee's report into Unadopted Roads.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Committee for Agriculture

and Rural Development to the Department for Regional Development

regarding contractual arrangements for farmers clearing snow.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence Rosaleen Thompson regarding the

painting of yellow lines in Wellington Park and agreed to forward to the

Department for comment.

Mr Spratt declared an interest as an MLA for the South Belfast constituency.

5. CAFRE Students Briefing: Public Transport in Rural Areas

10:44am The following students joined the meeting

Ruth Surgenor – Loughry College, CAFRE Gillian Thompson – Greenmount Campus, CAFRE Alice Anderson – Enniskillen Campus, CAFRE Kathryn Boyd – Enniskillen Campus, CAFRE Anna Wallace – Enniskillen Campus, CAFRE

The students presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

10:48am Mr Easton joined the meeting

11:04am The students left the meeting

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department to request that the main

access route to Greenmount College receives an appropriate cover of grit

during inclement weather.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department to request that that the

Department and Translink contact the Student Council and college principals

at CAFRE sites as part of a review of provision to the campuses.

6. Dungannon/Cookstown Pilot Project Board Briefing: Integrated Transport Pilot Project

11:11am The following representatives joined the meeting

Kellie Armstrong – Community Transport Association

Brigid Scullion – CDM Community Transport

Karen Magill – Federation of Passenger Transport NI

Frank Clegg – Translink

Dale Hanna – Southern Education and Library Board

Paul Cavanagh – Health and Social Care Board

Maria Bradley – Department of Agriculture and Rural Development

Iain Greenway – Department of the Environment

Michael Deery – Department for Regional Development

The representatives presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

Mr McAleer declared an interest as a holder of the MIDAS minibus certificate.

11:42am Mrs Hale left the meeting

11:54am Mrs Hale re-joined the meeting

11:56am Mr Easton left the meeting

12:13pm The representatives left the meeting

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to Community Transport Association and

CDM Community Transport to ask for an update on the new two tiered licensing regime, after they have had time to review the proposals.

7. SR 2013/257: The Traffic Signs (Amendment) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2013

Agreed: That the Committee for Regional Development has considered SR 2013/257:

The Traffic Signs (Amendment) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2013 and has

no objection to the rule.

8. Any Other Business

9. Date of the next meeting

The next meeting of the Committee will be Wednesday 11th December 2013 at 10:00am in Room 21, Parliament Buildings.

12:16pm The meeting was adjourned

.....

Mr Jimmy Spratt MLA Chairperson, Committee for Regional Development 11/12/13