

COMMITTEE FOR REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

WEDNESDAY 1ST OCTOBER 2014 CORRS CORNER HOTEL, NEWTOWNABBEY

Present:

Mr Trevor Clarke MLA (Chairperson)
Mr Sean Lynch MLA (Deputy Chairperson)
Mr Joe Byrne MLA
Mr John Dallat MLA
Mr Alex Easton MLA
Mrs Brenda Hale MLA
Mr Ross Hussey MLA
Mr Declan McAleer MLA
Mr Cathal Ó hOisín MLA

In attendance:

Mr Paul Carlisle (Clerk to the Committee) Mr Gavin Ervine (Assistant Assembly Clerk) Miss Allison Ferguson (Clerical Officer) Mr Barry McLernon (Clerical Officer)

Apologies:

Mr Chris Lyttle MLA Mr David McNarry MLA

09:43am The meeting commenced in open session

1. Apologies

As above.

2. Chairperson's Business

The Chairperson gave Members an overview of the meeting he held with the Minister which took place on Monday 29th September 2014.

The Chairperson gave Members an overview of the meeting he held with representatives of QPANI which took place on Tuesday 30th September 2014.

09:47am Mrs Hale joined the meeting

3. Draft Minutes

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the meeting of 24th September 2014.

4. Correspondence

Members noted the correspondence received.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from NILGA regarding a response to

the Off-Street Parking Bill Consultation.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from Minister Danny Kennedy

regarding the introduction of the Off-Street Parking (Functions of Districts

Councils) Bill on Monday 13th October 2014.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from Minister Danny Kennedy to the

Chairperson regarding his appointment and inviting him to meet with Senior

Officials in the Department.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Committee for Education to

the Department for Regional Development regarding a project to promote

walking and cycling to school.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Department of the

Environment regarding Committee queries on Air Quality Survey in Dungiven

and agreed to write back to the Department of the Environment to request

further information on this issue.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from the Road Safety Markings

Association thanking the Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson for meeting

with their representatives.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from Unite the Union requesting the

opportunity to meet to discuss a number of issues affecting public transport

and agreed that a meeting would be arranged with the Chairperson and

Deputy Chairperson.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from NI Greenways requesting a copy

of Departmental correspondence from 15th May 2014 in relation to taxis in bus lanes and agree to forward this Departmental correspondence to NI

Greenways.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence relating to the Investment Strategy for

Northern Ireland – Investing Activity Report for September 2014.

5. Utility Regulator Briefing: PC15 Draft Determination

09:52am The following representatives joined the meeting

Jenny Pyper – Chief Executive, Utility Regulator Tanya Hedley – Director Compliance and Network Operations, Utility Regulator John Mills – Network Regulation Manager, Utility Regulator

The representatives presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

10:00am Mr McAleer joined the meeting

10:15am Mrs Hale left the meeting

10:24am Mr McAleer left the meeting

10:32am Mrs Hale re-joined the meeting

10:37am Mr McAleer re-joined the meeting

10:40am Mr Easton left the meeting

10:46am The representatives left the meeting

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Utility Regulator to request further

information on the breakdown of capital efficiencies between water

treatment and wastewater treatment.

6. Northern Ireland Water Briefing: Annual Report and Accounts 2013/14

10:47am The following officials joined the meeting

Sara Venning – Chief Executive, NI Water Ronan Larkin – Director of Finance and Regulation, NI Water

The officials presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

10:54am	Mr Hussey left the meeting
11:05am	Mr Hussey re-joined the meeting
11:11am	Mr Lynch left the meeting
11:14am	Mr Dallat left the meeting
11:16am	Mr Lynch re-joined the meeting
11:16am	Mr Ó hOisín left the meeting
11:19am	Mr Lynch left the meeting
11:19am	The officials left the meeting
Agreed:	The Committee agreed to write to NI Water to request further information on the number and type of calls received by NI Water, including those made through the MLA Hotline.

7. Consideration of the Committee's draft End of Session Report 2013/14

Agreed: The Committee agreed the Membership and Overview se	sections of the
-------------------------------------------------------------	-----------------

Report.

Agreed: The Committee agreed the Primary Legislation and Subordinate Legislation

sections of the Report.

Agreed: The Committee agreed the Inquiries section of the Report.

Agreed: The Committee agreed the Budget Scrutiny and Policy Scrutiny sections of

the Report.

Agreed: The Committee agreed the Engagement section of the Report.

Agreed: The Committee agreed the Key Priorities for the Next Session section of the

Report.

Agreed: The Committee agreed Annex A of the Report.

Agreed: The Committee agreed that the Report be published on the NI Assembly

website.

11:22am Mr Lynch re-joined the meeting

8. Subordinate Legislation not Subject to Assembly Procedure

Members noted:

The Road Races (County Down Stages Rally) Order (Northern Ireland) 2014

The Waiting Restrictions (Lurgan) (No.2) (Amendment) Order (Northern Ireland)
 2014

11:24am The Committee adjourned

11:26am The Committee recommenced in open session

The following Members were present: Mr Trevor Clarke MLA (Chairperson), Mr Sean Lynch MLA (Deputy Chairperson), Mr Joe Byrne MLA, Mr John Dallat MLA, Mr Alex Easton MLA, Mrs Brenda Hale MLA, Mr Ross Hussey MLA, Mr Declan McAleer MLA, Mr Cathal Ó hOisín MLA

9. Department for Regional Development Briefing: A8 Belfast to Larne Dualling Scheme

11:26am The following official joined the meeting

Colin Hutchinson – Strategic Road Improvement Manager, Transport NI

The official presented to the Committee in respect of the work of the above. Following the presentation, Members put questions.

11:42am The official left the meeting

10. Any Other Business

11. Date of the next meeting

The next meeting of the Committee will be Wednesday 8th October 2014 at 10:00am in Room 21, Parliament Buildings.

11:43am The meeting was adjourned

.....

Mr Trevor Clarke MLA Chairperson, Committee for Regional Development 08/10/14