PUBLIC ACCOUNTS COMMITTEE

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

WEDNESDAY, 11 NOVEMBER 2015 SENATE CHAMBER, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present:	Ms Michaela Boyle (Chairperson) Mr John Dallat (Deputy Chairperson) Mr Roy Beggs Mr Trevor Clarke Mr Phil Flanagan Ms Claire Hanna Mr Edwin Poots Mr Jim Wells	
In Attendance:	Ms Lucia Wilson Mrs Karen Barry Mrs Danielle Saunders Mr Darren Weir	(Assembly Clerk) (Assistant Assembly Clerk) (Clerical Supervisor) (Clerical Officer)
Apologies:	Mr Conor Murphy	

2.06pm The meeting began in closed session with four Members present. The Committee did not have decision making quorum. In the absence of a decision-making quorum proceedings continued in line with Standing Order 49(5).

1. Preparation Session on the NIAO report on DE: Sustainability of Schools – Discussions with NIAO Officials

2.16pm Mr Clarke joined the meeting. The Committee gained decision making quorum

- *Agreed:* The Committee agreed to note the updated information provided by NIAO in relation to the cost of pupils in large and small primary schools.
- 2.17pm The meeting moved into open session.
 - 2. Apologies

Apologies were received from Mr Murphy.

3. Minutes of the meeting of 4 November 2015

Agreed: The minutes of the previous meeting were agreed.

4. Matters Arising

Inquiry into the NI Events Company

Agreed: The Committee agreed that they were content for the C&AG to produce the first draft of the Committee report into the NI Events Company for consideration

5. Correspondence

There was no new correspondence.

6. Evidence Session on DE: Sustainability of Schools

The Committee took oral evidence on the above inquiry from:

- Mr Paul Sweeney, Accounting Officer, DE
- Ms Jacqui Durkin, Director of Area Planning, DE
- Mrs Lorraine Finlay, Head of Area Planning, DE
- Mr Gregory Butler, Regional Managing Director for Southern East and Southern Region, Education Authority
 - Mr Kieran Donnelly, Comptroller and Auditor General, NIAO
 - Ms Alison Caldwell, Treasury Officer of Accounts, DFP

The witnesses answered a number of questions put by the Committee and agreed to provide additional information in writing.

- 2.22pm Mr Flanagan joined the meeting
- 2.33pm Mr Beggs joined the meeting
- 2.51pm Mr Flanagan left the meeting
- 2.54pm Mr Flanagan re-joined the meeting
- 3.01pm Mr Wells left the meeting
- 3.02pm Mr Wells re-joined meeting
- 3.12pm Ms Hanna left the meeting
- 3.31pm Ms Hanna re-joined the meeting
- 3.44pm Mr Dallat left the meeting
- 3.45pm Mr Poots joined the meeting
- 3.47pm Mr Dallat re-joined the meeting

4.15pm Ms.	Hanna left	the meeting
------------	------------	-------------

- 4.46pm Mr Dallat left the meeting
- 4.56pm Mr Flanagan left the meeting
- 4.57pm Mr Flanagan re-joined the meeting5.04pm Mr Dallat re-joined the meeting
- 5.27pm Mr Poots left the meeting
- 5.28pm Mr Poots re-joined the meeting
- 5.32pm The meeting moved into closed session.

The Committee discussed the evidence session with members of NIAO staff.

Mr Dallat, declared an interest as a member of the Board of Governors of St. Paul's College, Kilrea.

Mr Beggs, declared an interest as a member of the Board of Governors of Glynn Primary School.

Mr Clarke, declared an interest as a member of the Board of Governors of Creavery Primary School, Groggan Primary School and Randalstown Primary School.

Mr Poots, declared an interest as a member of the Board of Governors of Carr Primary School, Riverdale Primary School and Meadowbridge Primary School.

5.45pm Mr Beggs left the meeting

8. Any Other Business

Inquiry into the NI Events Company

Agreed: The Committee was content that the letter drafted to the Chief Constable in relation to the inquiry into the NI Events Company is issued.

Inquiry into NIHE: Land Disposals

Agreed: Members agreed potential witnesses to invite to the forthcoming evidence session on NIHE: Land Disposals in January 2016.

9. Date, time and place of next meeting

Members were informed that the next meeting of the Committee would be at 2.00pm on Wednesday 18 November in Room 29, Parliament Buildings.

5.57pm The meeting adjourned.

Ms Michaela Boyle (Chairperson) Chairperson, Public Accounts Committee