PUBLIC ACCOUNTS COMMITTEE

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

WEDNESDAY,18 FEBRUARY 2015 SENATE CHAMBER, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present: Ms Michaela Boyle (Chairperson)

Mr John Dallat (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Roy Beggs Mr Trevor Clarke Mr Alex Easton Mr Phil Flanagan Mr Paul Girvan Mr Ross Hussey Mr Daithi McKay Mr Adrian McQuillan Mr Sean Rogers

In Attendance: Ms Lucia Wilson (Assembly Clerk)

Mr Jack Peel (Assistant Assembly Clerk)

Mrs Danielle Saunders (Clerical Supervisor) Mr Darren Weir (Clerical Officer)

Apologies: None

2.05pm The meeting began in closed session

2.07pm Mr Clarke joined the meeting

2.24pm Mr Flanagan left the meeting

2.29pm Mr Girvan left the meeting

2.30pm Mr Girvan re-joined the meeting

Agreed: The Committee agreed to note correspondence from Mr Dermot Nesbitt

Agreed: The Committee agreed to note correspondence from DSD to NIAO regarding

Trinity Housing's purchase of the Crossgar site.

Agreed: The Committee noted correspondence from Mr Arthur Canning requesting that

Mr John Cochrane of Trinity Housing Association accompany him to the

evidence session on Advanced Land Purchases.

The Committee agreed that the Mr John Cochrane should sit in the Public Gallery during the evidence session and be called to the table, if required, to answer questions.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to hold its next meeting on Tuesday 24th February at 3.30pm in Room 29, Parliament Buildings.

- 2.35pm Mr Flanagan re-joined the meeting
- 2.40pm The meeting was suspended
- 2.45pm The meeting resumed in public session. The following Members were present:

Ms Michaela Boyle (Chairperson)

Mr John Dallat (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Roy Beggs

Mr Trevor Clarke

Mr Alex Easton

Mr Paul Girvan

Mr Ross Hussey

Mr Adrian McQuillan

Mr Sean Rogers

2. Apologies

There were no apologies.

4. Correspondence

There was no new correspondence received.

5. Matters Arising

There were no new matters arising.

6. Inquiry into DSD Advanced Land Purchases – Evidence Session

The Committee took oral evidence on the above inquiry from:

- Mr Will Haire, Accounting Officer, Department for Social Development
- Mr Jim Wilkinson, Director of Housing, Department for Social Development
- Mr Mark Graham, Assistant Director, Social Housing Development Programme, Northern Ireland Housing Executive
- Mr Donald Heaney, Head of Governance and Inspection Unit, Department for Social Development
- Mr Arthur Canning, CEO OakleeTrinity Housing Association

The witnesses answered a number of questions put by the Committee and agreed to provide additional information in writing.

- 3.00pm Mr Dallat left the meeting
- 3.15pm Mr Dallat re-joined the meeting
- 3.52pm Mr Hussey left the meeting
- 4.00pm Mr Hussey re-joined the meeting
- 4.05pm Mr Dallat left the meeting
- 4.10pm Mr Dallat re-joined the meeting

- 4.15pm The meeting was suspended
- 4.25pm The meeting resumed in public session. The following Members were present:

Ms Michaela Boyle (Chairperson)

Mr John Dallat (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Roy Beggs

Mr Trevor Clarke

Mr Alex Easton

Mr Paul Girvan

Mr Ross Hussey

Mr Adrian McQuillan

Mr Sean Rogers

- 4.44pm Mr Girvan left the meeting
- 4.47pm Mr Girvan re-joined the meeting
- 4.50pm Mr Rodgers left the meeting
- 5.32pm Mr McQuillan left the meeting
- 5.54pm Mr Beggs left the meeting
- 6.30pm Mr Dallat left the meeting. The Committee lost its decision-making quorum. In the absence of a decision-making quorum proceedings continued in line with Standing Order 49(5).
- 6.40pm Mr Dallat re-joined the meeting decision making quorum returned.

3. Minutes of the Meeting of 4 February 2015

Agreed: The minutes of the previous meeting were agreed.

7.01pm The meeting moved into closed session

7. Inquiry into Primary Care Prescribing

Mr Easton declared an interest as Assembly Private Secretary to the Minister for Health.

Agreed: Changes to the Primary Care Prescribing Report were agreed by the Committee.

Agreed: A Draft Press Release for the Primary Care Prescribing Report was agreed by the Committee.

8. Any Other Business

There was no other business.

9. Date, time and place of next meeting

Members were advised that the next meeting of the Committee will take place on Tuesday 24th February 2015 at 3.30pm in Room 29, Parliament Buildings.

7.05pm The meeting was adjourned.

Ms Michaela Boyle Chairperson, Public Accounts Committee