

COMMITTEE FOR THE OFFICE OF THE FIRST MINISTER AND DEPUTY FIRST MINISTER MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS WEDNESDAY 19 NOVEMBER 2014 ROOM 30, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present: Mr Mike Nesbitt (Chairperson)

Mr Chris Lyttle (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Alex Attwood Ms Megan Fearon Mrs Brenda Hale Mr Alex Maskey

Ms Bronwyn McGahan Mr Stephen Moutray Mr Jimmy Spratt

Apologies: Mr Michael Copeland

Mr David McIlveen

In Attendance: Mrs Kathy O'Hanlon (Assembly Clerk)

Miss Karen Jardine (Assistant Assembly Clerk)

Mr Stephen Magee (Clerical Supervisor) Miss Zuzana Polackova (Clerical Officer)

Mr Colin Pidgeon (Research Officer) Item 1 only Ms Roisin Kelly (Assembly Clerk) Item 11 only

Mr Alyn Hicks (Assistant Assembly Clerk) Item 11 only

The meeting began in closed session at 2.02 pm.

1. Members Professional Development - Budget Scrutiny

Mr Colin Pidgeon, Research Officer, joined the meeting at 2.03pm.

The Committee received a briefing on budget scrutiny.

Mr Colin Pidgeon left the meeting at 2.49 pm.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to seek further information on which

statutory committee has responsibility for scrutiny of the

Assembly Commission.

The meeting moved into public session at 2.56 pm.

2. Apologies

Apologies were noted as above.

3. Chairperson's Business

T:BUC Summer Camps/Co-design workshops

The Committee noted an invitation from OFMDFM to the co-design workshops to help inform the development and design of the programme of 100 summer schools/camps in summer 2015.

Committee Invitations

The Committee noted the list of current invitations.

4. Draft Minutes of the meeting held on 12 November 2014

Agreed: The draft minutes of the proceedings of 12 November 2014

were agreed by the Committee.

5. Matters Arising

Draft Budget 2015/16

The Committee noted the response from Ministers to its request for a Ministerial briefing on the Department's proposals for the Draft Budget 2015/16, which indicated that plans are currently under development and that officials would be in a position to brief Members at the meeting on 10 December. Members noted that the deadline for submissions to the Committee for Finance and Personnel's co-ordinated committee report were due on 5 December.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to request that a Departmental briefing

is provided before the deadline for response to the Committee

for Finance and Personnel.

Belfast Islamic Centre

The Chairperson advised Members that, following the briefing at last week's meeting, correspondence had been received from Dr Raied Al-Wazzan conveying his gratitude to the Committee for its time and support to the Muslim community of Northern Ireland.

Inquiry into Building a United Community

Members noted that the Arts Council had provided a written submission to its Inquiry into Building a United Community.

<u>List of Outstanding Correspondence</u>

The Committee noted the list of outstanding correspondence.

6. Correspondence

OFMDFM: Children's Services Co-operation Private Members Bill

The Committee noted an update from Ministers regarding the Private Members Bill being taken forward by Steven Agnew MLA in relation to children's services cooperation.

OFMDFM: Social Investment Fund

The Committee noted a response from the Department providing information in relation to the Social Investment Fund.

Mr Lyttle declared an interest as a member of the East Belfast Social Investment Fund Steering Group.

Agreed:

The Committee agreed to write to the Department to request a copy of the lessons learned paper; to ask if any further measures are being taken to promote business representation on the Belfast West, Northern and Derry/Londonderry Zones; and to request further information on the resignations from steering groups on the basis of professional or personal reasons, the nature of the professional reasons and which Zones the resignations relate to.

Child Poverty Strategy

Members noted a response from Ministers to correspondence regarding the Child Poverty Strategy 2014-17 and the Child Poverty Strategy Annual Report 2013-14. The Committee also noted a response from OFMDFM to correspondence regarding a Research and Information Service briefing paper on Child Poverty Strategies for England, Scotland and Wales and the 'End Child Poverty' paper.

OFMDFM: Ilex Annual Report and Financial Accounts.

Members noted that the Ilex Annual Reports and Financial Accounts for Year ended 31 March 2014 had been laid in the Business Office.

Competition and Markets Authority Project

Members noted correspondence from Competition and Markets Authority regarding work that the Authority is undertaking in the UK Higher Education (HE) sector.

7. Equality Commission for Northern Ireland

Representatives from the Equality Commission for Northern Ireland joined the meeting at 3.04 pm.

Mr Michael Wardlow, Chief Commissioner, Dr Evelyn Collins, Chief Executive and Mr Keith Brown, Head of Corporate Services appeared before the Committee for discussion and questions on the work of the Equality Commission. The evidence session was recorded by Hansard.

The representatives from the Equality Commission agreed to provide further information on a number of issues raised during the session.

The representatives from the Equality Commission left the meeting at 4.27 pm.

8. Draft Forward Work Programme

The Committee noted the Forward Work Programme up to Christmas recess.

9. Any Other Business

There was no other business.

The meeting moved into closed session at 4.28pm.

10. Northern Ireland Public Service Ombudsperson Bill

Ms Kelly and Mr Hicks joined the meeting at 4.28pm.

The Committee was briefed by the NI Public Service Ombudsperson Bill Project Team on emerging issues that required clarification for the progress of the Bill.

Ms McGahan recorded the opposition of Sinn Féin to the provisions of proposed clause j3 of the draft Bill.

Ms Kelly and Mr Hicks left the meeting at 4.56 pm.

11. Date, Time and Location of next meeting

The next meeting will be held at 2.00pm on Wednesday 26 November 2014, in Room 30, Parliament Buildings.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 4.57 pm.

Committee for the Office of the First Minister and deputy First Minister