

COMMITTEE FOR THE OFFICE OF THE FIRST MINISTER AND DEPUTY FIRST MINISTER MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS WEDNESDAY 9 OCTOBER 2013 ROOM 30, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present: Mr Chris Lyttle (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Alex Attwood Miss Megan Fearon Mrs Brenda Hale Mr Alex Maskey

Ms Bronwyn McGahan Mr Stephen Moutray Mr Jimmy Spratt

Apologies: Mr Mike Nesbitt (Chairperson)

Mr George Robinson

In Attendance: Mrs Shauna Mageean (Assembly Clerk)

Mr Keith McBride (Assistant Assembly Clerk)

Mr Stephen Magee (Clerical Supervisor) Mrs Marion Johnson (Clerical Officer)

Mr Alyn Hicks (Assistant Assembly Clerk) Item 9 only

The meeting began at 2.11 pm in public session with the Deputy Chairperson in the Chair

1. Apologies

As detailed above.

2. Chairperson's Business

Knowledge Exchange Seminar

The Committee noted an invitation for the Chairperson to make the opening remarks at a Knowledge Exchange Seminar in relation to "Shared Future" in Parliament Buildings on 24 October 2013.

Agreed: The Committee agreed that the Chairperson would make the

opening remarks at the Event.

European Parliament Event

The Committee noted an invitation from the European Parliament to attend an event to mark the 40th anniversary of EU Membership on 18 October 2013. Members agreed to let the Committee Office know if they wished to attend.

Current Invitations

The Committee noted the list of current invitations.

3. Draft Minutes of the meeting held on 2 October 2013

Agreed: The draft minutes of the proceedings of the 2 October 2013

were agreed by the Committee.

4. Matters Arising

Internet Safety for Children

The Committee considered a response from the Department providing an update on progress following the Assembly debate on internet safety.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department to seek

timescales for the strategic actions, further information on the work being undertaken by NCB and ARK and details of the results of the gap analysis. The Committee also agreed to

request information on the involvement of the Commissioner for Children and Young People in Internet Safety.

Strengthening Women's Voices in Government

The Committee considered a response from the Department providing further information on its work in relation to the Strengthening Women's Voices in Government Home Office document.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department to seek more

information on the review, further information on the work of

the steering group and timescales for the review.

List of Outstanding Issues

The Committee noted the list of outstanding issues.

5. Correspondence

Northern Ireland Council for Ethnic Minorities

The Committee considered a request from the Northern Ireland Council for Ethnic Minorities to see sight of correspondence from the Department which provided information on the actions it is taking in relation to integration of the Roma.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to share the response with the Northern

Ireland Council for Ethnic Minorities.

<u>Legislative Consent Motion – Intellectual Property Bill: Freedom of Information</u> Provisions

The Committee noted correspondence from the Department providing notice of its intention to lay a Legislative Consent Memorandum in relation to the Intellectual Property Bill. The Deputy Chairperson advised Members that officials will brief Members later in this meeting.

Barroso Taskforce Desk Officers' Progress Reports

The Committee considered copies of the Barroso Taskforce Desk Officers' Progress Reports (April – June 2013).

Agreed: The Committee agreed to forward the Progress Reports to all

statutory committees.

Review of the Commission for Victims and Survivors

The Committee noted a copy of KPMG Review of the Commission for Victims and Survivors.

6. Commission for Victims and Survivors

The Commissioner for Victims and Survivors joined the meeting at 2.17 p.m.

The Commissioner for Victims and Survivors, Ms Kathryn Stone, Secretary to the Commission, Mr John Beggs and Head of Policy, Mr Adrian McNamee briefed the Committee on victims and survivors issues. Questions and discussion followed. The Commissioner undertook to supply copies of correspondence to the Chair of the Service and to Ministers.

The Commissioner for Victims and Survivors left the meeting at 3.15 p.m.

The Deputy Chairperson suspended the meeting at 3.15 p.m.

The Deputy Chairperson recommenced the meeting at 3.33 p.m.

Mrs Hale left the meeting at 3.33 p.m.

7. Victims and Survivors Service

Officials from the Victims and Survivors Service joined the meeting at 3.34 p.m.

The Deputy Chairperson proposed that the Committee would rescind its decision to take part of the briefing from the Victims and Survivors Service in closed session.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to consider the proposal to rescind the

decision to take part of the briefing in closed session at next

week's meeting, in line with Committee procedures.

Agreed: In light of the above, the Committee agreed to reschedule the

closed session briefing from the Victims and Survivors Service.

Mrs Anne Dorbie, Chief Executive, Ms Margaret Bateson, Head of Corporate Services, Ms Katrina Hinfey, Head of Client Services, Miss Sara Templar, Information Officer and Dr Michael Duffy Assembly briefed the Committee on victims and survivors issues. Questions and discussion followed. The Victims and Survivors Service agreed to provide copies of minutes of meetings, outcomes and details of communications with the Commission. The Service also agreed to provide further information on the membership of the Review Panel and the Appeal Panel.

Officials from the Victims and Survivors Service left the meeting at 4.40 p.m.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to consider the Legislative Consent Memorandum as its next item.

8. Legislative Consent Memorandum: Intellectual Property Bill – Freedom of Information Provisions

Departmental officials joined the meeting at 4.42 p.m.

Departmental officials Mr Alan Maitland and Mr David Lammey briefed the Committee on the Legislative Consent Memorandum on the Intellectual Property Bill – Freedom of Information Provision. Questions and discussion followed. Officials agreed to provide the Committee with further clarification on some issues.

Departmental officials left the meeting at 4.57 p.m.

The meeting moved into closed session at 4.57 p.m.

9. Ombudsman Proposals

The Committee discussed some issues that emerged following the Committee's Report on the proposals for a Public Services Ombudsman Bill and made decisions on a number of issues. The Committee noted the opposition of Sinn Fein members to the need for any formality other than the Assembly itself in relation to the resignation of the Ombudsman.

10. Forward Work Programme

The Committee noted the Forward Work Programme.

Members noted that the Committee is hosting the Irish Minister of State for European Affairs for lunch before next week's meeting and agreed to indicate their attendance to Committee staff.

11. Any Other Business

None

12. Date, Time and Location of next meeting

The next meeting will be held in on Wednesday 16 October 2013 2.00 p.m. in Room 30, Parliament Buildings.

The Deputy Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 5.07 p.m.

Mr Mike Nesbitt MLA Chairperson, Committee for the Office of the First Minister and deputy First Minister