

COMMITTEE FOR THE OFFICE OF THE FIRST MINISTER AND DEPUTY FIRST MINISTER MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS WEDNESDAY 19 JUNE 2013 ROOM 30, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present: Mr Mike Nesbitt (Chairperson)

Mr Chris Lyttle (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Leslie Cree

Mr Colum Eastwood Miss Megan Fearon Mrs Brenda Hale Mr Alex Maskey

Ms Bronwyn McGahan Mr Stephen Moutray Mr George Robinson

Apologies: Mr Jimmy Spratt

In Attendance: Mrs Shauna Mageean (Assembly Clerk)

Mr Keith McBride (Assistant Assembly Clerk)

Mr Stephen Magee (Clerical Supervisor) Mrs Marion Johnson (Clerical Officer)

The meeting began at 2.06 pm in public session.

1. Apologies

As detailed above.

2. Chairperson's Business

Current OFMDFM Committee Invitations

Members noted the list of current invitations.

Meeting with the Victims and Survivors Forum

The Chairperson reminded Members of the meeting with the Victims and Survivors Forum in Parliament Buildings on Thursday 20 June 2013. Members from each party were nominated to attend.

Together: Building a United Community

Agreed: The Committee agreed that it would consider the issue of

engaging with young people on this issue at its planning

meeting in September.

3. Draft Minutes of the meeting held on 12 June 2013

Agreed: The draft minutes of the proceedings of the 12 June 2013 were

agreed, as amended, by the Committee.

4. Matters Arising

Northern Ireland Public Services Ombudsman

The Committee noted a copy of the Committee report into the Northern Ireland Public Services Ombudsman. The Committee also noted a response from the Department of Justice in relation to the Northern Ireland Judicial Appointments Ombudsman.

Agreed: The Committee agreed that it would consider the Report in

detail at next week's meeting and that Members would notify the Clerk if they had any proposed amendments to the Report.

List of Outstanding Issues

Members noted the list of outstanding issues.

Maze Long Kesh Job Creation

The Committee considered a response from the Chief Executive of the Maze Long Kesh Development Corporation providing further information on job creation at the Maze Long Kesh site.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to seek further information in relation to

job years.

5. Correspondence

Law Centre (NI)

The Committee noted correspondence from the Law Centre (NI) providing a copy of a reflection paper on activities and developments relating to separated children subject to immigration control in Northern Ireland.

Committee for Enterprise, Trade and Investment

The Committee noted correspondence from the Committee for Enterprise, Trade and Investment to the Department in relation to cross border co-operation.

Subsidiarity

The Committee considered a UK Explanatory Memoranda and an EU Proposal in relation to measures facilitating the exercise of rights conferred on workers in the context of freedom of movement for workers.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to forward the UK Explanatory

Memoranda and the EU Proposal to the Committee for

Employment and Learning for information.

6. Consultation on the Inquiry into Historical Institutional Abuse Rules

Departmental officials joined the meeting at 2.16 p.m.

Mr Maskey joined the meeting at 2.24 p.m.

Mr Moutray left the meeting at 2.40 p.m.

Mrs Hale joined the meeting at 2.40 p.m.

Mr Eastwood joined the meeting at 2.47 p.m.

Mr Lyttle joined the meeting at 2.53 p.m.

Departmental officials, Ms Maggie Smith, Mrs Cathy McMullan, Mr Jim Breen and Ms Roberta Dalton briefed the Committee on the consultation on the Inquiry into Historical Institutional Abuse Rules. Questions and discussion followed. There was also a discussion in relation to the support services available to those who are meeting with the Acknowledgment Forum.

Departmental officials left the meeting at 3.41 p.m.

The Chair of the Inquiry into Historical Institutional Abuse joined the meeting at 3.42 p.m.

Sir Anthony Hart, Chair of the Inquiry into historical Institutional Abuse, Mr Andrew Browne, Secretary to the Inquiry and Mr Patrick Butler, Solicitor for the Inquiry briefed the Committee on the Inquiry into Historical Institutional Abuse Rules. Questions and discussion followed.

The Chair of the Inquiry into Historical Institutional Abuse left the meeting at 4.09 p.m.

Mr Eastwood left the meeting at 4.09 p.m.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department to seek its

comments in relation to the issues raised concerning the support services available to those attending the Acknowledgment

Forum.

Agreed: The Committee also agreed to write to SAVIA, Lifeline and

WAVE Trauma to seek their views on the support services

available to those attending the Acknowledgment Forum.

Mrs Hale left the meeting at 4.15 p.m.

7. Age Legislation: Goods, Facilities and Services

Representatives of the Northern Ireland Youth Forum joined the meeting at 4.15 p.m.

Representatives of the Northern Ireland Youth Forum, Mr William Winchester, Mr Eoighan Rafferty and Mr Joe Hamill briefed the Committee on the issue of age legislation in relation to goods, facilities and services. Questions and discussion followed.

Representatives of the Northern Ireland Youth Forum left the meeting at 4.55 p.m.

Mr Maskey left the meeting at 4.55 p.m.

8. Forward Work Programme

The Committee noted the draft forward work programme.

9. Any Other Business

None.

10. Date, Time and Location of next meeting

The next meeting will be held in Room 30, Parliament Buildings on Wednesday 26 June 2013 2.00 pm.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 4.57 pm

Mr Mike Nesbitt MLA Chairperson, Committee for the Office of the First Minister and deputy First Minister