

#### COMMITTEE FOR THE EXECUTIVE OFFICE

# MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS WEDNESDAY 23 NOVEMBER 2016 ROOM 30, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present: Mr Mike Nesbitt (Chairperson)

Mr Danny Kennedy (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Cathal Boylan Mrs Pam Cameron Mr Seán Lynch Mr Philip McGuigan Mr Richie McPhillips Mr Christopher Stalford

Apologies: Mr Stewart Dickson

Mr William Irwin Mr Philip Logan

In Attendance: Mrs Kathy O'Hanlon (Committee Clerk)

Mr Neal Flanagan (Assistant Assembly Clerk) Mr Stephen Magee (Clerical Supervisor) Mrs Andrienne Magee (Clerical Officer)

The meeting began in public session at 2.02 pm.

## 1. Apologies

Apologies were noted as above.

#### 2. Chairperson's Business

## **Ministerial Briefing**

The Chairperson advised members that Ministers had confirmed their availability to meet with the Committee at 11am on Wednesday 30 November to discuss the draft Programme

for Government. In addition, Ministers had been advised that members may wish to take the opportunity to discuss drawdown of funding to tackle paramilitary activity.

#### EC-UK

The Chairperson reminded members that he would be attending the next EC-UK meeting in Cardiff on 5 December 2016, accompanied by the Assembly's Acting EU Affairs Manager.

### Refugee and Asylum Forum

The Chair reminded members that it had been agreed at the previous meeting to invite the Northern Ireland Community of Refugees and Asylum Seekers to brief the Committee on its refugee housing report. The Chairperson advised members that he had also received an approach from the Refugee and Asylum Forum requesting an opportunity to brief the Committee.

Agreed: To invite the Refugee and Asylum Forum to brief the Committee.

### Committee Invitations

The Committee noted the current list of Committee invitations.

#### 3. Draft Minutes

Agreed: The draft minutes of the proceedings of 16 November 2016 were

agreed by the Committee.

## 4. Matters Arising

#### Committee Visit to Brussels

The Chairperson advised that those members who had responded to Committee staff on dates for a Committee visit to Brussels had indicated that w/c 23 January 2017 would be the preferred option.

Agreed: That the Committee is content for staff to make preparatory arrangements

for the visit.

## Outstanding Committee Correspondence

The Committee noted the current list of outstanding correspondence.

## 5. Programme for Government – Commission for Victims and Survivors

Representatives from the Commission for Victims and Survivors joined the meeting at 2.07 pm

Mrs Judith Thompson, Commissioner for Victims and Survivors; Mr John Beggs, Secretary to Commission; Ms Sarah Malone, Victims and Survivors Forum member; and Mr Paul Crawford, Victims and Survivors Forum member, gave evidence on the draft Programme for Government and associated TEO Delivery Plans.

*Mr Stalford joined the meeting at 2.35pm.* 

The Chairperson declared an interest as a former Commissioner for Victims and Survivors.

A question and answer session followed. The session was recorded by Hansard.

The representatives left the meeting at 3.09 pm

## 6. Programme for Government - Victims and Survivors Service

Representatives from the Victims and Survivors Service (VSS) joined the meeting at 3.10 pm.

Mr Oliver Wilkinson, Chair of the Board of VSS; and Ms Margaret Bateson, Chief Executive Officer, VSS, gave evidence on the draft Programme for Government and associated TEO Delivery Plans.

A question and answer session followed. The session was recorded by Hansard.

*The representatives left the meeting at 3.37 pm.* 

*Mr Richie McPhillips left the meeting at 3.37 pm.* 

### 7. Programme for Government – Strategic Investment Board

Representatives from Strategic Investment Board joined the meeting at 3.38 pm

Mr Brett Hannam, Chief Executive; Mr Martin Spollen, Chief Investment Officer; and Mr Scott Wilson, Head of Asset Management Unit, Strategic Investment Board, gave evidence on the draft Programme for Government and associated TEO Delivery Plans.

A question and answer session followed. The session was recorded by Hansard.

*The representatives left the meeting at 3.57 pm.* 

### 8. Correspondence

## <u>Committee for Finance – Department of Finance Supply Division</u>

The Committee noted correspondence from the Committee for Finance regarding the Department of Finance Supply Division.

Agreed: To explore the role of the TEO Supply Officer when officials next appear

before the Committee on budget matters.

## <u>Investigating Links in Attainment and Deprivation Report</u>

The Committee noted copy correspondence from TEO to the Committee for Education regarding progress on the Investigating Links in Attainment and Deprivation Report.

## 9. Forward Work Programme

The Chairperson advised that, following a temporary staffing change in the Executive Office, a briefing on the second TEO delivery plan has been provisionally scheduled for the meeting of the Committee at 2pm on Wednesday 30 November, subject to the availability of officials from the Department for the Economy.

The Committee noted the draft Forward Work Programme until January 2017.

## 10. Any Other Business

There was no other business.

## 11. Date, time and place of next meeting

The next Committee meeting will be held at 11.00 am in Room 30 on Wednesday 30 November 2016.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 4.00 pm.

Mr Mike Nesbitt Chairperson Committee for the Executive Office