

COMMITTEE FOR THE EXECUTIVE OFFICE

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS WEDNESDAY 15 JUNE 2016 ROOM 30, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present: Mr Mike Nesbitt (Chairperson)

Mr Cathal Boylan Mrs Pam Cameron Mr Stewart Dickson Mr Phillip Logan Mr Seán Lynch Mr Richie McPhillips

Mr Ian Milne

Mr Christopher Stalford

Apologies: Mr Danny Kennedy (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr William Irwin

In Attendance: Mrs Kathy O'Hanlon (Assembly Clerk)

Miss Karen Jardine (Assistant Assembly Clerk)

Mr Stephen Magee (Clerical Supervisor) Mrs Andrienne Magee (Clerical Officer)

The meeting opened in public session at 2.02pm.

1. Apologies

Apologies are noted above.

2. Chair's Business

Current Committee Invitations

The Committee noted the list of current invitations.

3. Draft Minutes

Agreed: The draft minutes of the proceedings of 8 June 2016 were agreed

by the Committee.

4. Matters Arising

Informal meeting with the Dutch Ambassador

The Chairperson reminded Members of the informal meeting with the Dutch Ambassador scheduled for Thursday 16 June at 2.30pm in Room 21, and advised that the invitation had been extended to members of other statutory committees.

Programme for Government Scrutiny

The Committee noted the discussion during the Ministerial briefing on 8 June regarding how statutory committees could effectively scrutinise the forthcoming Programme for Government, given that departments will be required to work collaboratively to deliver the high level outcomes.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to ask Assembly Research and Information

Service to examine the approach to scrutiny, or experience of scrutiny of outcomes based models, in other jurisdictions.

The Committee noted that the Draft Programme for Government Framework 2016-21 draws on techniques set out by Mark Friedman in his book 'Trying Hard is Not Good Enough'; and noted that Mr Friedman will be involved in a conference on Outcomes-Based Accountability to be held in Belfast in October 2016.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to explore the possibility of meeting with

Mr Friedman during his visit to Belfast in October.

5. Victims and Survivors

Representatives from the Victims and Survivors Service joined the meeting at 2.05pm.

Mr Oliver Wilkinson, Chairperson, and Ms Margaret Bateson, Interim Chief Executive Officer, Victims and Survivors Service, briefed the Committee on the work of the organisation.

Mr Boylan joined the meeting at 2.18pm.

A question and answer session followed.

Representatives from the Victims and Survivors Service left the meeting at 3.01 pm.

Mrs Pam Cameron left the meeting at 3.01pm.

6. Equality and Good Relations

Representatives from the Community Relations Council joined the meeting at 3.01pm.

Ms Jacqueline Irwin, Chief Executive and Mr Paul Jordan, Funding and Development Director, Community Relations Council, briefed the Committee on the work of the Community Relations Council. A question and answer session followed.

Ms Irwin and Mr Jordan agreed to provide information regarding funding allocations to District Councils from the Community Relations Council.

Representatives from the Community Relations Council left the meeting at 3.56 pm.

7. Correspondence

Maze Long Kesh

The Committee noted correspondence from the Maze Long Kesh Development Corporation regarding a summary of EQIA screening exercises October 2015 – March 2016.

8. Forward Work Programme

Members noted the Committee's draft Forward Work Programme for the period before summer recess.

9. Any Other Business

No other business.

10. Date, time and place of next meeting

The next meeting will be held in Room 30 on Wednesday 22 June 2016 at 2 p.m.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 3.59pm.

Mr Mike Nesbitt MLA Chairperson, Committee for the Executive Office