

COMMITTEE FOR THE EXECUTIVE OFFICE

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS 2.00PM, WEDNESDAY 30 NOVEMBER 2016 ROOM 30, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present: Mr Mike Nesbitt (Chairperson)

Mr Danny Kennedy (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Cathal Boylan Mrs Pam Cameron Mr Stewart Dickson Mr William Irwin Mr Phillip Logan Mr Seán Lynch

Mr Christopher Stalford

Apologies: Mr Philip McGuigan

Mr Richie McPhillips

In Attendance: Mrs Kathy O'Hanlon (Committee Clerk)

Mr Neal Flanagan (Assistant Assembly Clerk) Mr Stephen Magee (Clerical Supervisor) Mrs Andrienne Magee (Clerical Officer)

Mr Simon Kelly (Legal Adviser – Item 1)

The meeting began in closed session at 2.00 pm.

1. Sub Judice

An official from Assembly Legal Services joined the meeting at 2.01 pm.

Mr Simon Kelly, Legal Adviser, Assembly Legal Services, briefed the Committee on the position regarding sub judice and the 'Ashers' case.

Agreed: that the Committee will discuss matters relating to the Ashers case with

the Equality Commission at a later date.

The Legal Adviser left the meeting at 2.16 pm.

The meeting moved into public session at 2.17 pm.

2. Apologies

Apologies were noted as above.

3. Chairperson's Business

Clarawood Community Association

The Committee noted correspondence from Clarawood Community Association regarding the Social Investment Fund.

Mr Boylan declared an interest as a member of the Southern Social Investment Fund Steering Group.

Mr Lynch declared an interest as a member of the Western Social Investment Fund Steering Group.

The Chairperson advised members of a meeting with representatives of Clarawood Community Association and the SIF East Steering Group at which the accuracy of a response from the Executive Office to the Committee was challenged.

Agreed: to ask TEO for confirmation of dates and times of relevant events; and

notes or minutes of meetings if available.

Centre for Cross Border Studies

The Committee noted correspondence from the Centre for Cross Border Studies requesting an opportunity to brief the Committee.

Agreed: to combine a briefing from the Centre for Cross Border Studies with a

visit to the North/South Ministerial Council in Armagh.

EC-UK

The Chairperson reminded members that he would be attending a meeting of EC-UK in Cardiff on 5 December, joined by the acting EU Affairs Manager.

Agreed: That the Committee was content with the travel proposal and costings.

Committee Invitations

The Committee noted the current list of Committee invitations.

4. Draft Minutes

Agreed: the draft minutes of the proceedings of 23 November 2016 were agreed by

the Committee, with one amendment.

5. Matters Arising

Outstanding Committee Correspondence

The Committee noted the current list of outstanding correspondence.

6. Programme for Government – Equality Commission NI

Representatives from the Equality Commission for Northern Ireland (ECNI) joined the meeting at 2.26 pm.

Dr Michael Wardlow, Chief Commissioner; and Mr Darren McKinstry, Director of Policy, ECNI, gave evidence on the draft Programme for Government and associated TEO Delivery Plans.

A question and answer session followed. The session was recorded by Hansard.

Mr Irwin left the meeting at 2.48 pm.

Agreed: ECNI will provide confirmation of its staffing numbers and their

community background breakdown; and views on what may be included

in the legislative programme.

The representatives left the meeting at 3.14 pm.

7. Programme for Government – Community Relations Council

Representatives from the Community Relations Council (CRC) joined the meeting at 3.14 pm.

Mr Peter Osborne, Chairperson; and Ms Jacqueline Irwin, Chief Executive, CRC, gave evidence on the draft Programme for Government and associated TEO Delivery Plans.

A question and answer session followed. The session was recorded by Hansard.

The representatives left the meeting at 3.53 pm.

Agreed: CRC will forward its response to the Programme for Government

consultation to the Committee when finalised.

8. Programme for Government – The Executive Office

Officials from TEO and the Department for the Economy joined the meeting at 3.54 pm.

Mr Colm Shannon, Director of Executive Support and International Relations, TEO; Mrs Janis Scallon, Principal Statistician, TEO; and Mr Mike Thompson, Director of Business Engagement, Department for the Economy, briefed the Committee on TEO Delivery Plans.

The officials left the meeting at 4.25 pm.

Agreed: the officials will confirm the lowest rate of corporation tax in the G20

group of countries.

Agreed: to copy written submissions on PfG indicators 30 and 40 to the Committee

for the Economy; and to publish written submissions on the Committee's

web page.

9. Correspondence

Committee for Agriculture, Environment and Rural Development

The Committee noted copy correspondence from the Committee for Agriculture, Environment and Rural Development to the First Minister and deputy First Minister regarding the Lough Foyle Management Agreement.

Committee for Justice

The Committee noted correspondence from the Committee for Justice to the First Minister and deputy First Minister regarding that Committee's Review of the Need for Stalking Legislation in Northern Ireland.

The Executive Office Departmental Plan

The Committee noted a response from the Executive Office regarding the TEO Departmental Plan

Agreed: to request sight of the Divisional Plans.

Together: Building a United Community

The Committee noted a response from the Executive Office regarding the Together: Building a United Community strategy

Agreed: to copy the response to the Committee for Education for information.

Committee for Education

The Committee noted copy correspondence from the Committee for Education to the executive Office regarding the Investigating Links in Achievement and Deprivation Report.

The Committee noted correspondence from the Committer for Education on its call for evidence into the Inquiry into Educational Underachievement.

10. Forward Work Programme

The Committee noted the draft Forward Work Programme until January 2017.

11. Any Other Business

There was no other business.

12. Date, time and place of next meeting

The next Committee meeting will be held at 2.00 pm in Room 30 on Wednesday 7 December 2016.

The meeting moved into closed session at 4.26 pm

13. Programme for Government

The Committee discussed its position in respect of TEO's delivery plans; and considered a draft Report on the Programme for Government.

Agreed: to consider a further draft at the meeting on Wednesday 7

December, with the aim of agreeing the Committee report.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 4.53 pm.

Mr Mike Nesbitt Chairperson Committee for the Executive Office