

COMMITTEE FOR THE ENVIRONMENT

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

MONDAY, 19 MAY 2014

SENATE CHAMBER, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present: Mrs Pam Cameron MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Cathal Boylan MLA Mr Colum Eastwood MLA

Mr Tom Elliott MLA Mr Ian McCrea MLA Mr Alban Maginness MLA Mr Barry McElduff MLA

Mr Ian Milne MLA Lord Morrow MLA Mr Peter Weir MLA

In Attendance: Mrs Sheila Mawhinney (Assembly Clerk)

Mr Sean McCann (Assistant Assembly Clerk) Mr Neil Sedgewick (Clerical Supervisor) Miss Allison Ferguson (Clerical Officer)

Apologies: Ms Anna Lo MLA (Chairperson)

The meeting began in public session at 11:06.

1. Apologies

Apologies were indicated as above.

2. Draft minutes

The minutes from the meetings held on 13th May 2014 were agreed.

Mr Milne joined the meeting at 11:07

Mr Eastwood joined the meeting at 11:07

3. Departmental briefing on The Local Government Code of Conduct for Councillors

Leo O'Reilly (DOE Permanent Secretary), Linda MacHugh (Director, Local Government Policy Division), Julie Broadway (G7, Local Government Policy Division), Mylene Ferguson (Local Government Policy Division) and Fiona McGrady (Local Government Policy Division) briefed the Committee on the provisions of the Code of Conduct for councillors.

Mr Boylan joined the meeting at 11:10.

Mr Maginness joined the meeting at 11:21.

The main areas discussed were the responses to the consultation and the ongoing work regarding the appeal mechanism. Officials indicated that they hoped to have a policy paper with the Committee before summer recess on the legislation required to establish an Adjudication Panel. They also confirmed that draft guidance on the enhanced planning role for councillors would issue for consultation in the autumn.

Mr Eastwood left the meeting at 11:34.

Mr Eastwood left the meeting at 11.54.

Mr Milne left the meeting at 11:58.

Question put and agreed:

"That the Committee for the Environment has considered The Local Government Code of Conduct for Councillors, and recommends that it be affirmed by the Assembly."

4. Departmental briefing on The Shadow Arrangements and draft Local Government (Transitional, Supplementary and Incidental Provisions and Modifications) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2014

Leo O'Reilly (DOE Permanent Secretary), Linda MacHugh (Director, Local Government Policy Division), Julie Broadway (G7, Local Government Policy Division), and Ms Tracy Johnston (Local Government Policy Division) briefed the Committee regarding the regulations.

The main areas discussed were the purpose of the regulations and the proposed shadow arrangements and the related timescales following the forthcoming local government elections.

Question put and agreed:

"That the Committee for the Environment has considered The Shadow Arrangements and draft Local Government (Transitional, Supplementary and Incidental Provisions and Modifications) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2014, and, subject to the ESR's report, recommends that it be affirmed by the Assembly"

5. Forward Work Programme

The Committee noted the Forward Work Programme.

6. Any Other Business

No other business was discussed.

7. Date, time and place of next meeting

The next meeting will be held on 29^{th} May 2014 at 10:00 in the Senate Chamber, Parliament Buildings.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 12:18.

Anna Lo, MLA Deputy Chairperson, Committee for the Environment 29 May 2014