

COMMITTEE FOR EMPLOYMENT AND LEARNING MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

MONDAY, 23 FEBRUARY 2015

ROOM 29, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present: Mr Robin Swann MLA (Chairperson)

Mr Thomas Buchanan MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Sydney Anderson MLA Mr Phil Flanagan MLA Ms Anna Lo MLA Mr Fra McCann MLA

Ms Bronwyn McGahan MLA

Mr Pat Ramsey MLA Ms Claire Sugden MLA

In Attendance: Mrs Cathie White (Assembly Clerk)

Mr Vincent Gribbin (Assistant Clerk) Mr Johnny Lawless (Clerical Supervisor) Ms Noreen Hayward (Clerical Officer)

Apologies: Mr David Hilditch MLA

The meeting opened in public session at 2:16 pm.

1. Apologies

Apologies are detailed above.

2. Departmental Briefing - European Social Fund

2:16 pm The Minister and his officials joined the meeting.

The Committee was briefed by Dr Stephen Farry, Minister for Employment and Learning, Mr Derek Baker, Permanent Secretary, Mr Colin Jack, Director of Strategy, European and Employment Relations Division and Mr John Noble, Head of ESF Managing Authority.

The briefing was followed by a question and answer session.

- 3:12 pm Mr Sydney Anderson left the meeting.
- 3:20 pm Mr Pat Ramsey left the meeting.
- 3:20 pm Ms Bronwyn McGahan left the meeting.
- 3:29 pm Ms Anna Lo left the meeting.
- Agreed: The Minister agreed to provide the Committee with a full breakdown of the outcome of the ESF application process when available.
- 3:32 pm Ms Bronwyn McGahan re-joined the meeting.
- 3:36 pm The Minister and his officials left the meeting.

3. Date, time and place of next meeting

The Committee noted that the next meeting should be held on Wednesday 4 March 2015 at 10.00 am in Room 29, Parliament Buildings.

3:37 pm The Chairperson adjourned the meeting.

Mr Thomas Buchanan MLA Deputy Chairperson, Committee for Employment & Learning

4 March 2015