

Committee for Infrastructure

Minutes of Proceedings

29 September 2021

Meeting Location: Room 29, Parliament Buildings

Present: Mr Jonathan Buckley MLA (Chairperson)

Mr David Hilditch MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Roy Beggs MLA

Mr Padraig Delargey MLA

Mrs Dolores Kelly MLA

Present by Video or Teleconference:

Ms Liz Kimmins MLA

Apologies: Mr Cathal Boylan MLA

Mr Andrew Muir MLA

Mr George Robinson MLA

In Attendance: Mr Vincent Gribbin (Assembly Clerk)

Mr Jonathan Lawless (Assistant Assembly Clerk)

Mr William Kinnear (Clerical Supervisor)



The meeting commenced at 10:08 am in public session.

1. Apologies

As above.

2. Chairpersons Business

The Chairperson welcomed Mr Padraig Delargy to the Committee.

3. Draft Minutes.

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the meeting held on Wednesday

22 September 2021.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department requesting an update

on the resources available for general cleaning and maintenance services across Northern Ireland and particularly in rural towns and

villages.

4. Matters Arising

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department for an update on how

the new test booking system is operating and for information on what stress testing the new system under went and to what extent the



Department was aware of the challenges that would face the new system before it went live.

Mr David Hilditch left the meeting at 10:14 am.

5. Correspondence

Correspondence from the Northern Ireland Assembly EU Affairs Manager providing an update on the Common Frameworks.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to forward the correspondence to the

Department and to ask for an update on the frameworks.

Correspondence from the Committee for Finance regarding a call for evidence for the Committee stage of the Defamation Bill.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to note the correspondence.

Copy of the Examiner of Statutory Rules Second Report of the Session 2021-2022.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to note the report.

Correspondence from the Department for Infrastructure regarding the Appointment of Non-Executive Members to the Board of the Northern Ireland Transport Holding Company (NITHC).

Agreed: The Committee agreed to note the correspondence.

Correspondence from Mid & East Antrim Borough Council providing a holding response to the Committee correspondence regarding the Local Planning Statement.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to note the correspondence.

Correspondence from Armagh, Banbridge & Craigavon Council providing a holding response to the Committee correspondence regarding the Local Planning Statement.



Agreed: The Committee agreed to note the correspondence.

Correspondence from the Department for Agriculture, Environment & Rural Affairs to the Department for Infrastructure regarding the Northern Ireland Food Safety Framework.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department for information on

what role, if any, it has to play in the strategy.

6. Subordinate Legislation – SL1's – Not Subject to Assembly Proceedings

The Committee considered the following SL1's not subject to any Assembly proceedings.

- o SL1 The One-Way Traffic (Ballynure) Order (Northern Ireland) 2021
- SL1 The Parking Places on Roads and Waiting Restrictions (Dungannon) (Amendment) Order (Northern Ireland) 2021

Agreed: The Committee agreed that it was content with the proposals for the Statutory Rules.

7. Subordinate Legislation - SRs - Not Subject to Assembly Proceedings

The Committee considered the following SR's not subject to any Assembly proceedings.

- SR 2021-263 The Parking and Waiting Restrictions (Antrim)
 (Amendment) Order (Northern Ireland) 2021
- SR 2021-264 The Prohibition of Waiting (Schools) (Amendment No.2)
 Order (Northern Ireland) 2021



- SR 2021-265 The Urban Clearways (Amendment No.2) Order (Northern Ireland) 2021
- SR 2021-266 The Parking Places, Loading Bays and Waiting Restrictions (Downpatrick) (Amendment) Order (Northern Ireland) 2021

Agreed: The Committee agreed to note the Statutory Rules.

8. Departmental Briefing – Road Safety Strategy

The Departmental officials joined the meeting at 10:18 am

Mr David Hilditch re-joined the meeting at 10:18 am.

Mr Roy Beggs declared an interest as Treasurer of the Carrick Road Safety Partnership.

Mr David Hilditch declared an interest as Chairperson of the Carrick Road Safety Partnership.

Mr Chris Hughes, Director of Safe & Accessible Travel
Ms Caroline Hobson, Principal Officer, Safe & Accessible Travel Division

The Departmental officials provided the Committee with an oral briefing.

A question and answer session followed.

Agreed:

The Departmental officials agreed to consider the Committee's suggestions and concerns during its development of the new Road Safety Strategy including:

- A wider adoption of Speed Indicator Devices.
- Dropping the requirement for a fatality to instigate the implementation of road calming measures.
- The licensing of farm vehicles for road use.
- That road safety is included into planning proposals



• Wider adoption of 20mph speed limits outside all schools

Development of walking and cycling infrastructure outside schools

Agreed: The Departmental officials agreed to provide the Committee with

further information on the Road Safety Grant Scheme including the

criteria and what projects are supported by the scheme.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department requesting

information on international models of best practise to reduce speed.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department requesting

information on the effectiveness of Speed Indicator Devices.

The Chairperson thanked the Departmental officials for their attendance.

The Departmental officials left the meeting at 11:15 am.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department to schedule a

briefing on the results of the consultation on the new Road Safety

Strategy.

10. Forward Work Programme

The Committee considered the Draft Forward Work Programme.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to schedule the strategic planning meeting on

Wednesday 13 October 2021.



11. Any Other Business

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Ulster Farmers Union and the

Rural Community Network requesting their comment on the Regional

Planning Guidance issued by the Department for Infrastructure.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to The Executive Office to ascertain the

current position of the Infrastructure Commission and when appointments to the Commission are likely to be made.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department to request

information on the list of appointments to Non-Departmental Government Bodies under the remit of the Department for

Infrastructure in this mandate.

12. Date, Time and Place of the next meeting

The Committee agreed that the next meeting would be on Wednesday, 6 October 2021 at 10:00 am in the Senate Chamber, Parliament Buildings.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:18 am.

Mr Jonathan Buckley MLA Chairperson, Committee for Infrastructure

6 October 2021