

# Committee for Infrastructure

# **Minutes of Proceedings**

13 October 2021

Meeting Location: Senate Chamber, Parliament Buildings

Present: Mr Jonathan Buckley MLA (Chairperson)

Mr David Hilditch MLA (Deputy-Chairperson)

Mr Roy Beggs MLA

Ms Liz Kimmins MLA

Mr Andrew Muir MLA

Mrs Dolores Kelly MLA

**Present by Video or Teleconference:** 

Mr Cathal Boylan MLA

Mr Padraig Delargey MLA

Mr George Robinson MLA

Apologies: None

In Attendance: Mr Vincent Gribbin (Assembly Clerk)

Mr Jonathan Lawless (Assistant Assembly Clerk)

Mr William Kinnear (Clerical Supervisor)



The meeting commenced at 10:02 am in public session.

1.	1. Apologies	
	As above.	
2.	Chairpersons Business	
	None.	
3.	3. Draft Minutes.	
	Agreed:	The Committee agreed the minutes of the meeting held on Wednesday 6 October 2021.

## 4. Matters Arising

The Committee discussed the need to respect witnesses providing briefings to the Committee.

The Members considered a Clerk's Memo on the cost of provisional driving licenses in the UK and the Republic of Ireland.



#### 5. Correspondence

Invitation from the Northern Ireland Human Rights Commission to a Strategic Planning Process 2022-2025 event.

**Agreed:** The Committee agreed to note the invitation.

Correspondence from the Committee on Procedures regarding an Inquiry into Legislative Consent Motions.

**Agreed:** The Committee agreed to note the correspondence.

Copy of the Examiner of Statutory Rules Third Report of the Session 2021-2022.

**Agreed:** The Committee agreed to note the correspondence.

Correspondence from a member of the public regarding an issue renewing his taxi license.

**Agreed:** The Committee agreed to forward the correspondence to the

Department for information and comment.

Response from Antrim & Newtownabbey Borough Council regarding the Local Planning Statement.

**Agreed:** The Committee agreed to note the response.

Correspondence from the Chairpersons' Liaison Group providing information on proposals for new or amended EU Laws.

**Agreed:** The Committee agreed to forward to the Department for information

and request that it keeps the Committee updated on its engagement on

EU Regulations.

Response from the Minister for Infrastructure to issues arising from the Committee meeting on 22 September 2021.



**Agreed:** The Committee agreed note the response and to send extracts to

relevant organisations.

Correspondence from the Road Haulage Association inviting the Committee to visit Manfreight's Distribution Facility.

**Agreed:** The Committee agreed to note the correspondence.

Response from Lower Oldpark Community Association to Departmental comments regarding the weed spraying schedule.

**Agreed:** The Committee agreed to note the response and forward to the

Department for information and comment.

#### 6. Subordinate Legislation – SL1's – Not Subject to Assembly Proceedings

The Committee considered the following SL1 not subject to any Assembly proceedings.

SL1 - The Road Races (Ulster Rally) Order (Northern Ireland) 2021

**Agreed:** The Committee agreed that it was content with the proposal for the

Statutory Rule.

#### 7. Subordinate Legislation - SRs - Not Subject to Assembly Proceedings

The Committee considered the following SR's not subject to any Assembly proceedings.



- SR 2021-279 The One-Way Traffic (Ballynure) Order (Northern Ireland)
  2021
- SR 2021-280 The Parking Places on Roads and Waiting Restrictions (Dungannon) (Amendment) Order (Northern Ireland) 20211

**Agreed:** The Committee agreed to note the Statutory Rules.

#### 8. Departmental Briefing - Update on Planning

The Departmental officials joined the meeting at 10:15 am

Mr Roy Beggs declared an interest as an owner of agricultural land and that his father is a member of the Ulster Farmers Union.

Mr Angus Kerr, Chief Planner & Director of Regional Planning Mr Philip McGowan, Principal Planning Officer Ms Joy Hargie, Principal Planning Officer

The Departmental officials provided the Committee with an oral briefing.

A question and answer session followed.

The Committee suspended at 10:40 am.

The Committee resumed at 10:47 am.

**Agreed:** The Committee agreed to request that the Department keep it informed

of its engagement with the mortgage industry in relation to the high proportion of single dwellings and self builds in the countryside.

The Chairperson thanked the Departmental officials for their attendance.

The Departmental officials left the meeting at 11:46 am.



Mr David Hilditch left the meeting 11:56 am.

Proposal: That this Committee asks for the Department to rescind the Planning Advice Note pending adequate consultation with stakeholders and issue a press release on the matter.

The question was put that the Committee is content with the proposal.

The Committee divided: Ayes 6; Noes 2; Abstain 0

AYES Mr Jonathan Buckley

Mr Roy Beggs Mr Cathal Boylan Mr Padraig Delargy Ms Liz Kimmins

Mr George Robinson

NOES

Mrs Dolores Kelly Mr Andrew Muir

Agreed:

The Committee agreed to write to the Minister highlighting the lack of clarity surrounding the rationale for an impact of the issuing of the Planning Advice Note for Developments in the Countryside and request that she rescind the Advice Note until there has been adequate consultation with the appropriate stakeholders.

Agreed:

The Committee agreed to issue a press release detailing its position in relation to the Planning Advice Note.

#### 9. Forward Work Programme

The Committee considered the Draft Forward Work Programme.

**Agreed:** The Committee agreed the forward work programme.



### **10. Any Other Business**

**Agreed:** The Committee agreed to write to the Department requesting that

officials assist Local Councils in applying to the On-street Residential Charge Point Scheme and seek further information on the Action

Group that was set-up and the work carried out to date.

**Agreed:** The Committee agreed to write to the Minister for Infrastructure asking

when she intends to publish the research conducted on behalf of her Department on the subjects of; (i) Active Travel and Modal Shift; (ii) Electrification of Transport; (iii) Greening of the Public Sector Fleet; and

(iv) Alternative Fuels in the Transport Sector.

Mrs Dolores Kelly announced to Members that she would be no longer sitting on the Committee. The chairperson and Committee Members, thanked her for her contribution to the Committee.

#### 11. Date, Time and Place of the next meeting

The Committee agreed that the next meeting would be on Wednesday, 20 October 2021 at 10:00 am in Room 29, Parliament Buildings.

The meeting was adjourned at 12:00 pm.

Mr Jonathan Buckley MLA Chairperson, Committee for Infrastructure

20 October 2021