

# Committee for Health

## **Minutes of Proceedings**

Thursday, 6 January 2022

Meeting Location: Virtual Meeting

#### **Present by Video or Teleconference:**

Colm Gildernew MLA (Chairperson)

Pam Cameron MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Paula Bradshaw MLA

Gerry Carroll MLA

Alan Chambers MLA

Deborah Erskine MLA

Colin McGrath MLA

Carál Ní Chuilín MLA

Apologies: Órlaithí Flynn MLA

#### In Attendance by Video or Teleconference:

Keith McBride (Clerk)

Roisin Donnelly (Assistant Clerk)

Deirdre Farry (Assistant Clerk)

Ellen Wilson (Clerical Officer)



The meeting commenced at 3.02 pm in public session.

#### 1. Apologies

As above.

The Chairperson informed the Committee that, under Standing Order 115 (6), Órlaithí Flynn had delegated authority to him to vote on her behalf at the meeting.

#### 2. Departmental briefing on COVID-19

The Minister of Health, Robin Swann MLA, joined the meeting by video conference at 3.02 pm.

Professor Ian Young, Chief Scientific Adviser, joined the meeting by video-conference at 3.02 pm.

The Minister provided an update on COVID-19 and other issues.

Professor Sir Michael McBride, Chief Medical Officer, joined the meeting by video-conference at 3.07 pm.

A question and answer session followed.

The Minister agreed to provide the Committee with further information on a number of issues raised during the briefing.

Deborah Erskine left the meeting at 4.06 pm.

The Chairperson thanked the Minister and the officials for their attendance.

The briefing session was reported by Hansard.



### 3. Date, Time and Place of the next meeting

The next meeting of the Committee for Health was scheduled to take place at 12.30 pm on Tuesday, 11 January 2022.

The meeting was adjourned at 16.34 pm.

Colm Gildernew MLA
Chairperson, Committee for Health