

COMMITTEE FOR HEALTH

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

Wednesday, 20 May 2020 Senate Chamber, Parliament Buildings

Present: Mr Colm Gildernew (Chairperson)

Ms Pam Cameron MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Ms Paula Bradshaw MLA Mr Gerry Carroll MLA Mr Alan Chambers MLA Ms Órlaithí Flynn MLA* Mr Alex Easton MLA Mr Colin McGrath MLA Mr Pat Sheehan MLA

In Attendance: Ms Éilis Haughey (Clerk)

Mr Jonathan Lamont (Clerical Supervisor)

*Ms Flynn attended the meeting via telephone conferencing.

The meeting commenced at 11.33 am in public session.

1. Apologies

None.

2. COVID-19 Disease Response – Briefing from the Minister of Health and Chief Medical Officer

The Minister of Health, Mr Robin Swann MLA and the Chief Medical Officer, Dr Michael McBride, joined the meeting at 11.34 am.

The Minister provided an update on his Department's response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The briefing was followed by a question and answer session.

Mr Alex Easton declared an interest as having a relative who works as a nurse who has contracted coronavirus.

Mr Colin McGrath left the meeting at 1.00 pm.

The Minister and Chief Medical Officer agreed to provide the Committee with further information on a number of issues raised during the question and answer session.

The briefing session was reported by Hansard.

The Committee noted the following correspondence relevant to the briefing session:

- A copy of correspondence from the Department of Finance to the Committee for Finance regarding funding allocated to support the care home sector.
- Correspondence from the Business Services Organisation providing a response to issues raised during the briefing session with the Committee on 30 April 2020.

3. Any Other Business

The Chairperson thanked the Committee Clerk and her staff for their efforts in supporting the work of the Committee at this time.

4. Date, Time and Place of Next Meeting

The next committee meeting was scheduled to take place on Thursday, 21 May 2020, at 10.30 am in the Senate, Parliament Buildings.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 1.18 pm.

Chairperson