

Committee for The Executive Office

Minutes of Proceedings

Wednesday 15th December 2021

Meeting Location: Room 30, Parliament Buildings

Present:

Ms Sinéad McLaughlin (Chairperson)

Present via Video Conferencing:

Mr Christopher Stalford

Mr Pat Sheehan MLA

Ms Emma Sheerin MLA

Mr Pádraig Delargy MLA

Ms Diane Dodds MLA

Apologies:

Mr Alex Easton MLA

Mr Trevor Lunn MLA

Mr John Stewart MLA

In Attendance:

Mr Michael Potter (Assembly Clerk)

Ms Sarah-Anne McKinley (Assistant Clerk)

Ms Alison Belshaw (Clerical Supervisor)

Ms Andrienne Magee (Clerical Officer)



The meeting commenced at 2:03pm in open session.

1. Apologies

As above.

2. Chairperson's Business

The Chairperson updated the Committee that the scheduled meeting of the Inter-Parliamentary Forum due to take place in the House of Lords on Friday 10th December 2021 was cancelled as a precautionary measure due to the rising numbers of Covid-19 infections.

Diane Dodds joined the meeting at 2.16pm.

3. Draft Minutes

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the meeting held on Wednesday 8th December 2021.



4. Matters Arising

The Chairperson referred the Committee to a summary document compiled of the main issues raised by Stakeholder groups in relation to the Refugee Integration Strategy.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to forward the summary of the main issues raised on the Strategy to the consultation team within the Executive Office.

The Chairperson referred the Committee to a document compiled with a proposed extended list of Stakeholder groups to give evidence to the Committee in relation to the Violence Against Women and Girls Strategy.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to hold a virtual stakeholder event on the Strategy in February 2022.

5. Article 2 of the Ireland/Northern Ireland Protocol - Dedicated Mechanism— Oral Briefing

The Northern Ireland Human Rights Commission (NIHRC), Equality Commission for Northern Ireland (ECNI) and Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission (IHREC) joined the meeting at 2.10pm.

- Ms Alyson Kilpatrick Chief Commissioner, Northern Ireland Human Rights Commission
- Ms Geraldine McGahey Chief Commissioner, Equality Commission for Northern Ireland
- Sinéad Gibney Chief Commissioner, Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission

The Commissions briefed the Committee in relation to Article 2 of the Ireland/Northern Ireland Protocol and the dedicated mechanism.



Pat Sheehan left the meeting at 2.50pm

Diane Dodds left the meeting at 3.01pm

The oral evidence was followed by a question and answer session.

The NIHRC agreed to share with the Committee further information on the potential impact on human rights in relation to the UK Government's Nationality and Borders Bill.

The Chairperson thanked NIHRC, ECNI and IHREC for their attendance.

6. Legacy of the Conflict- Oral Briefing

The Centre for Children's Rights joined the meeting at 3:26pm

- Dr Siobhán McAlister, Senior Lecturer Centre for Children's Rights, Queens University Belfast
- Dr Mary-Louise Corr Lecturer Centre for Children's Rights, Queens University Belfast

Lecturers from the Centre for Children's Rights briefed the Committee in relation to its report titled 'It Didn't End in 1998: Examining the Impacts of Conflict Legacy across Generations.'

The oral evidence was followed by a question and answer session.

The Chairperson thanked the Centre for Children's Rights for their attendance.



7. Historical Institutional Abuse - Oral Briefing

The Commissioner for Survivors of Institutional Childhood Abuse (COSICA) joined the meeting at 4.03pm.

 Ms Fiona Ryan, Commissioner for Survivors of Institutional Childhood Abuse, COSICA

Pádraig Delargy left the meeting at 4.04pm

The Commissioner briefed the Committee in relation to an official apology for victims and survivors of historical institutional abuse.

The Chairperson thanked the Commissioner for their attendance.

The Chairperson due to lack of quorum had to suspend the meeting as per Standing Order 46(6).

8. Date, Time and Place of the next meeting

The next Committee meeting will be held on Wednesday 12 January 2022 at 2:00pm, in Room 30, Parliament Buildings.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:29pm.

Sinéad McLaughlin Chairperson, Committee for the Executive Office