

Assembly

COMMITTEE FOR THE EXECUTIVE OFFICE

Minutes of Proceedings

WEDNESDAY 4 MARCH 2020

Room 30, Parliament Buildings, Belfast

Present: Mr Colin McGrath MLA (Chairperson)

Mr Mike Nesbitt MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Trevor Clarke MLA
Mr Trevor Lunn MLA
Mr Fra McCann MLA
Mr George Robinson MLA
Mr Pat Sheehan MLA
Ms Emma Sheerin MLA
Mr Christopher Stalford MLA

In Attendance: Ms Marie Austin (Assembly Clerk)

Mrs Janet Robinson (Assistant Clerk) Mr Craig Mealey (Clerical Supervisor) Mrs Andrienne Magee (Clerical Officer)

The meeting commenced at 2.03 pm in open session.

1. Apologies

There were no apologies.

2. Draft Minutes

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the meeting held on Wednesday 26

February 2020.

3. Matters Arising

The Committee considered a range of Brexit issues arising from the departmental evidence session on 26 February 2020.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to seek further information from the Department on

the Brexit issues identified.

4. The Commission for Victims and Survivors – Overview Briefing

The following witnesses joined the meeting at 2.05pm:

Judith Thompson, Commissioner for Victims and Survivors
Andrew Sloan, Chief Executive Officer, Commission for Victims and Survivors
Paul Crawford, Forum Member, Commission for Victims and Survivors
Lesley Veronica, Forum Member, Commission for Victims and Survivors.

The Commissioner for Victims and Survivors briefed the Committee on her statutory duties and powers, and the work of the Commission.

The oral evidence was followed by a question and answer session.

Ms Emma Sheerin joined the meeting at 3.01pm

During the briefing, the UK Government's commitment to publish and introduce legislation in the UK Parliament to implement the Stormont House Agreement, to address Northern Ireland legacy issues, was discussed.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Secretary of State for an update on progress in relation to the development and introduction of the legislation.

The oral evidence was reported by Hansard.

The Chairperson thanked the witnesses for their attendance.

5. Outcomes Delivery Plan – Departmental Briefing

The following officials joined the meeting at 3.43pm:

Chris Stewart, Director of Executive Support and Programme for Government, The Executive Office

Caroline Gillan, Head of Programme for Government and NICS of the Future Division, The Executive Office

Geoffrey Simpson, Head of PfG Monitoring and Evaluation Team, The Executive Office.

The officials provided the Committee with an update on The Executive Office Outcomes Delivery Plan, December 2019.

Mr Christopher Stalford left the meeting at 3.47pm.

The oral evidence was followed by a question and answer session.

Mr Pat Sheehan left the meeting at 4.11pm.

The officials agreed to provide further information on a range of issues.

The Committee agreed to schedule a departmental evidence session on the development of the Programme for Government 2020-21.

The oral evidence was reported by Hansard.

The Chairperson thanked the officials for their attendance.

Mike Nesbitt left the meeting at 4.21pm.

6. Forward Work Programme

The Committee noted the Forward Work Programme for March – April 2020.

7. Correspondence

The Committee noted *The Investment Strategy Northern Ireland - Investing Activity Report.*

8. Chairperson's Business

The Chairperson reminded Members to keep questions to witnesses focused on the subject area.

Agreed: The Committee agreed that evidence sessions should, in the main, be scheduled for one hour.

The Chairperson acknowledged that this was Mr Fra McCann's last Committee meeting and and thanked him for all his hard work during his time on the Committee.

9. Any Other Business

There was no other business.

10. Date, Time and Place of next meeting

The next meeting will be held on Wednesday 18 March 2020 at 2.00 pm. in Room 30 Parliament Buildings.

The meeting was adjourned at 4.38pm.

Mr Colin McGrath MLA

Chairperson, Committee for the Executive Office