

Northern Ireland Assembly

COMMITTEE FOR THE EXECUTIVE OFFICE

Minutes of Proceedings

WEDNESDAY 26 FEBRUARY 2020

Room 30, Parliament Buildings, Belfast

Present: Mr Colin McGrath MLA (Chairperson)	
Mr Mike Nesbitt MLA (Deputy Chairper	son)
Mr Trevor Clarke MLA	,
Mr Trevor Lunn MLA	
Mr Fra McCann MLA	
Mr Pat Sheehan MLA	
Ms Emma Sheerin MLA	
Mr Christopher Stalford MLA	
-	

- Apologies: Mr George Robinson MLA
- In Attendance: Ms Marie Austin (Assembly Clerk) Mrs Janet Robinson (Assistant Clerk) Mr Craig Mealey (Clerical Supervisor) Mrs Andrienne Magee (Clerical Officer)

The Committee agreed to start the meeting in closed session to receive a briefing from the Northern Ireland Assembly EU Affairs Manager on European Affairs.

The meeting commenced at 2.01 pm in closed session.

1. Apologies

As above.

2. European Affairs Information Session

The Northern Ireland Assembly European Affairs Manager briefed the Committee on European Affairs.

The Chairperson advised Members that the Committee will receive further briefings from the EU Affairs Manager in advance of briefings from departmental officials on the work of the Brexit Sub-Committee.

The meeting moved into public session at 2.55 pm.

3. Draft Minutes

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the meeting held on Wednesday 19 February 2020.

4. Matters Arising

There were no matters arising.

5. Brexit – Issues including the work of the Brexit Sub-Committee

The following officials joined the meeting at 2.55 pm

Dr Andrew McCormick, Director General, Intenational Relations, The Executive Office Ms Karen Pearson, Director of Future EU Relations, The Executive Office

The officials briefed the Committee on Brexit issues including the work of the Brexit Sub-Committee.

The oral evidence was followed by a question and answer session.

The officials agreed to provide the Committee with further information on a range of issues.

The oral evidence was reported by Hansard.

The Chairperson thanked the officials for their attendance.

6. Functioning of Government (Miscellaneous Provisions) Bill

The Bill Sponsor, Mr Jim Allister MLA, joined the meeting at 3.55pm.

The Chairperson informed Members that the main committees to which the

Functioning of Government (Miscellaneous Provisions) Bill is of concern met to discuss the Bill. The Chairpersons consulted and agreed that if the Functioning of Government (Miscellaneous Provisions) Bill passes Second Stage, the Bill should stand referred to the Committee for Finance.

Mr Allister briefed the committee on the policy objectives and clauses of the Bill.

The oral evidence was followed by a question and answer session.

The oral evidence was reported by Hansard.

The Chairperson thanked Mr Allister for his attendance.

The Committee considered the general principles of the Functioning of Government (Miscellaneous Provisions) Bill.

The Committee put to a vote the following Motion proposed by Mr Trevor Clarke:

"That the Committee for the Executive Office will consider the general principles of the Functioning of Government (Miscellaneous Provisions) Bill following the publication of the report on the Renewable Heat Incentive Inquiry."

The Committee divided: Ayes 6; Noes 2; Abstain 0

AYES Mr Colin McGrath Mr Trevor Clarke Mr Fra McCann ML Mr Pat Sheehan MLA Ms Emma Sheerin MLA Mr Christopher Stalford **NOES** Mr Mike Nesbitt Mr Trevor Lunn

The Motion was carried.

7. Forward Work Programme

The Committee noted the Forward Work Programme for February – April 2020.

The Chairperson informed Members that templates to capture initial views on what the Committee's strategic priorities should be for the remainder of this mandate would be circulated. Members were asked to return the completed template by 11 March 2020.

8. Correspondence

The Committee noted correspondence from an individual regarding redress for victims and survivors of Historical Institutional Abuse.

9. Chairperson's Business

The Chairperson updated Members on an informal meeting that he, the Deputy Chairperson and other Committee Chairperson's attended with Members of the House of Lords EU Select Committee, to discuss issues around the Ireland/N Ireland Protocol.

10. Any Other Business

There was no other business.

11. Date, Time and Place of next meeting

The next meeting will be held on Wednesday, 4 March 2020 at 2.00 pm in Room 30 Parliament Buildings.

The meeting was adjourned at 4.53pm.

Mr Colin McGrath MLA

Chairperson, Committee for the Executive Office