

COMMITTEE FOR THE EXECUTIVE OFFICE

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

WEDNESDAY 04 NOVEMBER 2020

Room 30, Parliament Buildings, Belfast

Present: Mr Colin McGrath MLA (Chairperson)

Mr Doug Beattie MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Ms Martina Anderson MLA*

Mr Trevor Clarke MLA Mr Trevor Lunn MLA

Mr George Robinson MLA*

Mr Pat Sheehan MLA Ms Emma Sheerin MLA

Mr Christopher Stalford MLA

Apologies: None

In Attendance: Ms Marie Austin (Assembly Clerk)

Ms Carla Campbell (Assistant Clerk)

Ms Sarah-Anne McKinley (Assistant Clerk) Ms Andrienne Magee (Clerical Officer) Mr Craig Mealey (Assistant Clerk)

The meeting commenced at 2:06pm.

1. Apologies

As above.

^{*} Members who attended the meeting via video conferencing.

2. Brexit – Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough Council

The following representatives joined the meeting remotely via StarLeaf at 2:07pm:

Councillor Robert Foster, Chairperson of the Operations Committee, Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough Council

Clifford Todd, Head of Environmental Health, Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough Council.

The representatives briefed Members on Brexit issues affecting Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough Council.

The oral evidence was followed by a question and answer session.

The oral evidence session was reported by Hansard.

The Chairperson thanked the representatives for their attendance.

3. Brexit – Belfast City Council

The following representatives joined the meeting remotely via StarLeaf at 2:28pm:

Councillor Anthony Flynn, Chairperson of the Brexit Committee, Belfast City Council

John Walsh, City Solicitor and Director of Legal and Civic Services, Belfast City Council.

The representatives briefed Members on Brexit issues affecting Belfast City Council.

The oral evidence was followed by a question and answer session.

The oral evidence session was reported by Hansard.

The Chairperson thanked the representatives for their attendance.

4. Brexit – Lisburn and Castlereagh City Council

The following representatives joined the meeting remotely via StarLeaf at 2:52pm:

Councillor Hon. Nicholas Trimble, Mayor, Lisburn and Castlereagh City Council

David Burns, Chief Executive, Lisburn and Castlereagh City Council.

The representatives briefed Members on Brexit issues affecting Lisburn and Castlereagh City Council.

The oral evidence was followed by a question and answer session.

The oral evidence session was reported by Hansard.

The Chairperson thanked the representatives for their attendance.

The meeting was suspended at 3:14pm

The meeting resumed at 3:26pm

5. Brexit – Mid Ulster District Council

The following representatives joined the meeting remotely via StarLeaf at 3.27pm:

Councillor Dominic Molloy, Chairperson of the Brexit Committee, Mid Ulster District Council

Mark Kelso, Director of Public Health and Infrastructure, Mid Ulster District Council.

The representatives briefed Members on Brexit issues affecting Mid Ulster District Council.

The oral evidence was followed by a question and answer session.

The oral evidence session was reported by Hansard.

Mr Christopher Stalford left the meeting at 3:41pm

Mr Trevor Clarke left the meeting at 3.45pm

The Chairperson thanked the representatives for their attendance.

6. Brexit – Derry City and Strabane District Council

The following representatives joined the meeting remotely via StarLeaf at 3.52pm:

Councillor Brian Tierney, Mayor, Derry City and Strabane District Council

John Kelpie, Chief Executive, Derry City and Strabane District Council.

The representatives briefed Members on Brexit issues affecting Derry City and Strabane District Council.

The oral evidence was followed by a question and answer session.

The oral evidence session was reported by Hansard.

The Chairperson thanked the representatives for their attendance.

7. Brexit – Fermanagh and Omagh District Council

The following representatives joined the meeting remotely via StarLeaf at 4.25pm:

Councillor John Coyle, Vice Chairperson of the Council, Fermanagh and Omagh District Council

Alison McCullagh, Chief Executive, Fermanagh and Omagh District Council.

The representatives briefed Members on Brexit issues affecting Fermanagh and Omagh District Council.

The oral evidence was followed by a question and answer session.

The oral evidence session was reported by Hansard.

The Chairperson thanked the representatives for their attendance.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Permanent Secretary of the Northern Ireland Office and to the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland to seek their views on the particular challenges being faced by councils which border counties in the Republic of Ireland, and ask why the Northern Ireland Office refused a meeting request from Fermanagh and Omagh District Council.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to ask the Executive Office to provide local councils with an update on the position in relation to support that might be required from Council Environmental Health Officers or other officers post-transition, and associated funding arrangements.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to ask the Executive Office to update councils on the Operation Yellowhammer programme of work, which is designed to ensure that Government is prepared to mitigate the potential reasonable worst case scenario impacts of Brexit, if the United Kingdom leaves the European Union without a deal.

8. Any Other Business

None.

9. Date, Time and Place of next meeting

The next meeting will be held on Wednesday 11 November 2020, at 2:00pm in Room 30, Parliament Buildings.

The meeting was adjourned at 4.51pm.

Mr Colin McGrath MLA Chairperson, Committee for the Executive Office