

Concurrent Committee of the Committee for the Executive Office, Committee for the Economy and Committee for Finance

Minutes of Proceedings

Wednesday 16 June 2021

Meeting Location: The Assembly Chamber

Present: Mr Colin McGrath MLA (Chairperson)

Ms Caoimhe Archibald MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Steve Aiken MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Keith Buchanan MLA

Mr Pat Catney MLA

Mr Maolíosa McHugh MLA

Ms Sinead McLaughlin MLA

Mr Gary Middleton MLA

Mr Mike Nesbitt MLA

Mr Matthew O'Toole MLA

Mr Jim Wells MLA



Present by Video or Teleconference:

Ms Martina Anderson MLA

Ms Jemma Dolan MLA

Mr Trevor Lunn MLA

Mr John O'Dowd MLA

Mr George Robinson MLA

Mr Pat Sheehan MLA

Ms Emma Sheerin MLA

Apologies: Mr John Stewart MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Philip McGuigan MLA

In Attendance: Mr Michael Potter (Assembly Clerk)

Mr Peter Hall (Assembly Clerk)

Mr Peter McCallion (Assembly Clerk)

Ms Carla Campbell (Assistant Clerk)

Ms Sarah-Anne McKinley (Assistant Clerk)

Ms Angela McPartland (Assistant Clerk)

Ms Alice O'Hare (Clerical Supervisor)

Mr Stephen Magee (Clerical Supervisor)

Ms Andrienne Magee (Clerical Officer)

Ms Heather Graham (Clerical Officer)

The meeting commenced at 2:05pm in open session



1. Apologies

As Above.

2. HOCS

The officials joined the meeting at 2:08pm

- Ms Jenny Pyper, Interim Head of the Civil Service.
- Ms Karen Pearson, Director of Covid Strategy and Recovery, The Executive Office
- Mr Paul Grocott, Economic Strategy Group, Department for the Economy.

The officials briefed Members on Covid Recovery.

The oral evidence was followed by a question and answer session.

The oral evidence was reported by Hansard.

Gary Middleton left the meeting at 2:25pm.

Trevor Lunn left the meeting at 3:12pm.



Steve Aiken left the meeting at 3:30pm.

John O'Dowd left the meeting at 3:33pm.

The Chairperson thanked the officials for their attendance.

The meeting suspended at 3:34pm.

The meeting resumed at 3:41pm.

3. High Streets Task Force

The officials joined the meeting at 3:41pm.

- Mr Chris Stewart, Deputy Secretary of Strategic Policy, Equality and Good Relations, The Executive Office.
- Mr Mark O'Donnell, Deputy Secretary, Housing, Urban Regeneration and Local Government, Department for Communities.

The officials briefed Members on High Streets Task Force.

Jim Wells left the meeting at 3:54pm.

John O'Dowd joined the meeting at 4:12pm.



George Robinson left the meeting at 4:21pm.

Emma Sheerin left the meeting at 4:32pm.

Mike Nesbitt left the meeting at 4:34pm.

The oral evidence was followed by a question and answer session.

The oral evidence was reported by Hansard.

The Chairperson thanked the officials for their attendance.

4. Any Other Business

None.

5. Date, Time and Place of the next meeting

The next meeting of the Committee for the Executive Office will be held on Wednesday 23 June at 2:00pm.

The next meeting of the Committee for the Economy will be held on Wednesday 23 June at 10:00am.



The next meeting of the Committee for Finance will be held on Wednesday 23 June at 2:00pm.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:48pm.

Colin McGrath MLA
Chairperson, Committee for the Executive Office