

COMMITTEE FOR THE ECONOMY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

2 FEBRUARY 2021

ROOM 30, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

9:00am

Dr Caoímhe Archibald (Chairperson) Ms Sinéad McLaughlin (Deputy Chairperson) Mr John O'Dowd Mr Christopher Stalford Mr John Stewart

In Attendance:

Mr Peter Hall (Assembly Clerk) Ms Sinead Kelly (Assistant Assembly Clerk) Mr Michael Greer (Clerical Supervisor) Mr Thomas Manning (Clerical Officer)

Apologies:

Mr Stewart Dickson Mr Gordon Dunne MBE Mr Gary Middleton Ms Claire Sugden

The meeting began at 09:18am in open session.

1. Apologies

As noted above.

2. Oral Briefing from the Department for the Economy: EU Exit Update

The officials joined the meeting at 09.19am

Members received a briefing from:

Shane Murphy,	Head of EU Exit Preparation and Transition Group, Department for the Economy
Giulia Ni Dhulchaointigh,	Head of EU Exit Trade Negotiations, Department for the Economy
Ryan Hill,	EU Exit Trade & Mitigation, Department for the Economy

Key issues discussed included: the agreement that was reached between the UK and the EU in December, the impact that the agreement has had on the movement of goods between GB and NI, the role of the Trader Support Scheme and the need for local businesses to be ready for the impact of tariffs.

Agreed: The Officials agreed to supply the Committee with updates from the Invest NI clinics.

The officials left the meeting at 10.13am

3. Any Other Business

There were no items of business.

4. Date, Time and Place of Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Committee will take place on Wednesday 3rd December 2020 in Room 29, Parliament Buildings at 10am.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 10.13am

Dr Caoímhe Archibald Chairperson Committee for the Economy 3rd February 2021