

COMMITTEE FOR THE ECONOMY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

15 JULY 2020

ROOM 30, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

10:00am

Present: Dr Caoímhe Archibald (Chairperson)

Mr Gary Middleton Mr John O'Dowd Ms Claire Sugden

In Attendance: Mr Peter Hall (Assembly Clerk)

Ms Angela McParland (Assistant Assembly Clerk)

Mr Thomas Manning (Clerical Officer)

Apologies: Ms Sinéad McLaughlin (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Stewart Dickson Mr Gordon Dunne MBE Mr Christopher Stalford

Mr John Stewart

The meeting began at 10:04am with four Members.

1. Apologies

As noted above.

2. Minutes

The Committee did not have decision-making quorum

3. Chairpersons Business

There were no items of business.

4. Oral Briefing by Ulster University Economic Policy Centre (UUEPC) – Economic Impact of Covid-19

The representatives joined the meeting at 10.05am

Members received a briefing from:

Mr Gareth Hetherington UUEPC;

Mr Eoin Magennis UUEPC; and

Mr Esmond Birnie UUEPC.

Key issues discussed included: an update and outlook on the economic impact of COVID-19 on the Northern Ireland economy.

The representatives left the meeting at 11.17am

A the Committee was not decision-making quorate. The Chairperson therefore moved to adjourn the meeting

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 11.17am

Dr Caoímhe Archibald Chairperson Committee for the Economy September 2020