

COMMITTEE FOR THE ECONOMY

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

15 JUNE 2020

ROOM 30, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

10:00am

Present:

Dr Caoímhe Archibald (Chairperson) Ms Sinéad McLaughlin (Deputy Chairperson) Mr Gordon Dunne MBE Mr Gary Middleton Mr John O'Dowd Mr John Stewart Ms Claire Sugden

In Attendance:	Mr Peter Hall (Assembly Clerk)
	Ms Sinead Kelly (Assistant Assembly Clerk)
	Ms Angela McParland (Assistant Assembly Clerk)
	Mr Michael Greer (Clerical Supervisor)
	Mr Thomas Manning (Clerical Officer)

Apologies:	Mr Stewart Dickson
	Mr Christopher Stalford

The meeting began at 10:04am in open session.

1. Apologies

As noted above.

2. Oral Briefing from the Department for the Economy (DfE) – June Monitoring Round

The officials joined the meeting at 10.05am

Members received a briefing from:

Mr Colin Lewis	Head of Management Services and Regulation
	Group, DfE; and
Ms Sharon Hetherington	Finance Director, DfE.

Key issues discussed included: Departmental reallocation of funding internally and inescapable and prioritised funding bids to the Monitoring Round process.

Agreed: Members agreed to write to the Department on the range of concerns Members have on relocation of funds.

Agreed: Members agreed to forward the Departmental papers to the Committee for Finance along with the Committee's views regarding expectations from the Monitoring Round process.

The officials left the meeting at 10.51am

3.Any Other Business

There were no items of business.

4. Date, Time and Place of Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Committee will take place on Wednesday 17th June 2020 in Room 30, Parliament Buildings at 10am.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 10.54am

Dr Caoímhe Archibald Chairperson Committee for the Economy 24th June 2020