

### COMMITTEE FOR THE ECONOMY

## MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

#### 26 MAY 2020

### **ROOM 30, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS**

### 10:00am

Present: Dr Caoímhe Archibald (Chairperson)

Ms Sinéad McLaughlin (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Gordon Dunne MBE Mr Gary Middleton Mr John O'Dowd Mr John Stewart Ms Claire Sugden

In Attendance: Mr Peter Hall (Assembly Clerk)

Ms Sinead Kelly (Assistant Assembly Clerk) Mr Michael Greer (Clerical Supervisor) Mr Thomas Manning (Clerical Officer)

Apologies: Mr Stewart Dickson

Mr Christopher Stalford

The meeting began at 10:03am in open session.

# 1. Apologies

As noted above.

## 2. Oral Briefing from NILGA & SOLACE NI

*The witnesses joined the meeting at 10.04am* 

Members received a briefing from:

Alderman Stephen Moutray Chair of NILGA's Economy & International

Affairs Committee:

Ms Lisa O'Kane Programme Manager, NILGA;

Mrs Suzanne Wylie Chief Executive, Belfast City Council; and

Mr Anthony Tohill Chief Executive, Mid-Ulster Council

Key issues discussed included: the impact of Covid-19 on local government, the support offered to local businesses, the need by the Hospitality and Retail sector to redesign their business going forward, a plan to redesign town centres to enable the reopening and re-educating the public and a focus on re-skilling programmes to address unemployment.

Agreed: Members agreed to engage further with NILGA & SOLACE NI

*Agreed:* The Committee agreed to discuss the issues raised during the briefing at its weekly triage videocall and then write to the Minister accordingly.

The witnesses left the meeting at 11.01am

### 3.Any Other Business

There were no items of business.

## 4. Date, Time and Place of Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Committee will take place on Wednesday 27<sup>th</sup> May 2020 in Room 30, Parliament Buildings at 10am.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 11.09pm

Dr Caoímhe Archibald Chairperson Committee for the Economy 27<sup>th</sup> May 2020