# COMMITTEE FOR AGRICULTURE, ENVIRONMENT AND RURAL AFFAIRS

#### MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

## FRIDAY 21 AUGUST 2020 ROOM 30, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS

Present:	Mr Philip McGuigan MLA (Deputy Chairperson) Ms Clare Bailey MLA (via StarLeaf) Mrs Rosemary Barton MLA (via Starleaf) Mr John Blair MLA Mr Harry Harvey MLA (via StarLeaf)) Mr William Irwin MLA Ivia StarLeaf)
Apologies:	Mr Declan McAleer MLA (Chairperson) (via Starleaf) Mr Maurice Bradley MLA Mr Patsy McGlone MLA
In attendance:	Ms Stella McArdle, Committee Clerk Ms Elaine Farrell, Assistant Clerk (via StarLeaf) Ms Marion Johnson, Clerical Supervisor Mr Ed McCann, Clerical Officer (via StarLeaf)

The meeting commenced at 10.30 a.m. in open session

#### 1. Apologies

As above

#### 2. SL1: The Agricultural Commodities Coronavirus Income Support Scheme 2020 and the Support to the Ornamental Horticultural Sector.

The following departmental officials joined the meeting via StarLeaf at 10.33 a.m.

Norman Fulton, Grade 3, Head of Food and Farming Group

Steven Millar, Grade 5, Head of Brexit Contingency, Agri Food Trade

The officials briefed the Committee and this was followed by a question and answer session.

The Deputy Chairperson thanked the officials for their attendance.

- Agreed: The Committee agreed that it was content with the merits of the SL1: The Agricultural Commodities Coronavirus Income Support Scheme 2020 and that it should move to the next legislative stage.
- *Noted*: The Committee noted that the SL1 on Support to the Ornamental Horticultural Sector has been delayed and will be considered at a future date.

### 3. AOB

There was no other business.

#### 4. Date, time and place of the next meeting

The next meeting of the Committee for Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs will take place on Thursday 3 September 2020 at 10.00 a.m. in Room 30, Parliament Buildings

The meeting adjourned at 10.57 a.m.

-----

Declan McAleer, Chairperson, Committee for Agriculture and Rural Development

-----

Date