

Ad Hoc Committee on the COVID-19 Response

Minutes of Proceedings: Wednesday 6 January 2021

The Ad Hoc Committee on the COVID-19 Response met at 12.02 pm in the Assembly Chamber with the Chairperson, Mr Alex Maskey, in the Chair for agenda items 1 to 3 and 5 to 6. The Deputy Chairperson, Mr Christopher Stalford, was in the Chair for agenda item 4.

The Chairperson welcomed members to the meeting and advised that as the statement from the Executive Office had only been received at round 11.30 a.m., he would suspend the meeting for 15 minutes to allow members time to finish reading it.

The meeting was suspended at 12.03 p.m. and resumed at 12.20 p.m.

Minutes of the Previous Meeting held on 21 December 2020

Members were asked to note the minutes of the previous meeting held on 21 December 2020 which were agreed by the Chairperson, Mr Alex Maskey.

2. Statement from the First Minister and deputy First Minister

The First Minister and deputy First Minister made a statement to the Committee, following which they answered questions from members.

Following this item of business, the meeting was suspended at 1.37 p.m. and resumed at 1.42 p.m.

No. 13/17-22

3. Statement from the Minister of Education

The Minister of Education made a statement to the Committee, following which he answered questions from members.

Following this item of business, the meeting was suspended at 3.18 p.m. and resumed at 3.24 p.m.

4. Statement from the Minister of Health

The Minister of Health made a statement to the Committee, following which he answered questions from members.

Following this item of business, the meeting was suspended at 4.40 p.m. and resumed at 4.45 p.m.

5. Statement from the Minister of Justice

The Minister of Justice made a statement to the Committee, following which she answered questions from members. The Minister was supported by Mr Peter May, Permanent Secretary of the Department of Justice.

4. Date, time and place of next meeting

The Chairperson advised that the Committee had yet to receive confirmation from the Executive about when Ministers would next come to make a statement to the Ad Hoc Committee and that as soon as confirmation was received, written notification of the time, date and place of the next meeting would issue to members in the usual way.

The meeting adjourned at 6.07 p.m.

Mr Alex Maskey Chairperson 7 January 2021

Members present for all or part of the proceedings:

Mr Alex Maskey (Chairperson)

Mr Christopher Stalford (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr Jim Allister

Ms Martina Anderson

Ms Kellie Armstrong

Dr Caoimhe Archibald

Mrs Rosemary Barton

Ms Clare Bailey

Mr John Blair

Mr Maurice Bradley

Ms Paula Bradley

Ms Sinéad Bradley

Ms Paula Bradshaw

Ms Nicola Brogan

Mr Jonathan Buckley

Mr Thomas Buchanan

Ms Joanne Bunting

Mr Robbie Butler

Mrs Pam Cameron

Mr Gerry Carroll

Mr Alan Chambers

Mr Trevor Clarke

Mr Stewart Dickson

Ms Linda Dillon

Ms Jemma Dolan

Mr Gordon Dunne

Mr Mark Durkan

Ms Órlaithí Flynn

Mrs Arlene Foster (First Minister)

Mr Paul Frew

Mr Colm Gildernew

Mr Paul Givan

Mr Harry Harvey

Ms Cara Hunter

Mr William Humphrey

Mrs Dolores Kelly

Mrs Naomi Long (Minister of Justice)

Mr Chris Lyttle

Mr Daniel McCrossan

Mr Patsy McGlone

Mr Colin McGrath

Mr Justin McNulty

Ms Karen Mullan

Mr Mike Nesbitt

Mr Robin Newton

Mr Gary Middleton

Mr Andrew Muir

Mr Mike Nesbitt
Mr John O'Dowd
Mrs Michelle O'Neill (deputy First Minister)
Mr Matthew O'Toole
Ms Emma Rogan
Ms Emma Sheerin
Ms Claire Sugden
Mr Robin Swann (Minister of Health)
Mr Peter Weir (Minister of Education)
Mr Jim Wells

Miss Rachel Woods

^{*}Any interests declared by members during the committee meeting are recorded in the minutes of evidence published in the Official Report.