COMMITTEE FOR CULTURE, ARTS AND LEISURE

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

Thursday 26th February 2015 ROOM 30 Parliament Buildings

Present: Mr. Nelson McCausland MLA (Chairperson)

Mr. Gordon Dunne MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr. William Humphrey MLA Mr. Oliver McMullan MLA Mr. Basil McCrea MLA Mr. Cathal Ó hOisín MLA Mr. Leslie Cree MLA

Apologies: Ms. Rosaleen McCorley MLA

Mr. David Hilditch MLA Mrs. Karen McKevitt MLA Mr. Dominic Bradley MLA

In attendance: Mr. Peter Hall (Clerk)

Miss Maria Magennis (Assistant Clerk) Mr. Jonathan Lamont (Clerical Supervisor) Mr. Malcolm Collins (Clerical Officer) Mr. James Hurley (Bursary Student)

The Committee opened in public session at 10:05 am

1. Apologies

Apologies are noted above.

2. Draft Minutes

The draft minutes for the 19th February 2015 meeting were agreed.

Mr Cathal Ó hOisín left the meeting at 10:07 a.m.

3. Briefing from Libraries NI regarding Savings Delivery Plans

The following officials joined the meeting at 10:08 am

Ms Irene Knox, Chief Executive, Libraries NI Ms Helen Osborn, Director of Library Services, Libraries NI Mr Terry Heron, Director of Business Support, Libraries NI The officials briefed the Committee.

A question and answer session followed.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department for Culture, Arts and Leisure seeking clarity around the central voluntary exit scheme.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department of Finance and Personnel, copying in the Finance and Personnel Committee, asking for details of the voluntary exit schemes as it applies to the Arm's Length Bodies.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Minister of the Environment asking for support in facilitating a joint approach between the new Super Councils and Libraries NI in relation to community planning.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department of Agriculture and Rural Development, copying in the Committee, asking how Libraries NI could draw this down funding through the TRPSI Scheme.

Mr Basil McCrea left the meeting at 11:08 a.m.

Mr Basil McCrea re-joined the meeting at 11:10 a.m.

4. Matters Arising

Noted: The Committee noted the Correspondence Tracker.

Noted: The Committee noted the response from BBC NI regarding coverage of Radio Foyle in the North West.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to discuss the correspondence with the Member that raised the issue originally.

Noted: The Committee noted the correspondence from OFMDFM Committee regarding European Commission work programme for 2015.

5. Correspondence

Noted: The Committee noted the Investment Strategy Report for February 2015.

6. Chairperson's Business

Agreed: The Committee agreed to write to the Department expressing their support for work undertaken by The National Collection of Northern Ireland Publications and ask that Minister supports their new work into collecting electronic publications.

7. Forward Work Programme

Agreed: The Committee agreed the Forward Work Programme.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to request further detail on the DCAL briefing in relation to the North West, particularly with regard to the strategy, costs, and longevity of the Legacy programme.

8. AOB

There was no other business raised.

The Committee then went into Closed Session at 11:33 a.m.

9. BBC Charter Renewal

Agreed: The Committee agreed that it would invite the PACT NI and NI Screen to brief the Committee on the issue of BBC Charter renewal.

Mr Oliver McMullan left the meeting at 11.34am.

Mr Oliver McMullan re-joined the meeting at 11.38am.

Mr William Humphrey left the meeting at 11.45am.

Mr William Humphrey re-joined the meeting at 11.47am.

Mr Leslie Cree left the meeting at 11.58am.

The Committee lost quorum for decision making (5 Members) at 11.58am.

The Committee returned to Open Session at 12:30 p.m.

10. Date, Time and Place of next Meeting

The next meeting of the Committee for Culture, Arts and Leisure will take place at the Science Park Building, Derry/Londonderry on Thursday 5th March 2015 at 10.00am.

11. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 12:32pm.

Mr. Nelson McCausland

Chairperson, Committee for Culture, Arts and Leisure

5th March 2015