## COMMITTEE FOR CULTURE, ARTS AND LEISURE

#### MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

# Monday 18<sup>th</sup> May 2015

# **Room 30 Parliament Buildings**

Present: Mr. Nelson McCausland MLA (Chairperson)

Mr. Gordon Dunne MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Mr. Basil McCrea MLA Mr. Leslie Cree MLA Mr. David Hilditch MLA Mr. William Humphrey MLA Mrs. Rosaleen McCorley MLA Mrs. Karen McKevitt MLA Mr. Oliver McMullan MLA

Apologies: Mr. Dominic Bradley MLA

Mr. Cathal Ó hOisín MLA

In attendance: Mr. Peter Hall (Clerk)

Miss Maria Magennis (Assistant Clerk) Mr. Jonathan Lamont (Clerical Supervisor)

Miss Sabra Wray (Clerical Officer)

The Committee opened in closed session at 12.35pm

#### 1. Apologies

Apologies are noted above.

#### 2. Discussion of Inquiry

Mr Nelson McCausland, Chairperson, declared an interest as the Minister who signed the Outline Business Case for the Regional Stadium Programme.

Mrs Karen McKevitt declared an interest in the planning process as the Assembly Private Secretary to the Minister of the Environment.

Members discussed the Title, Objective and Terms of Reference for the inquiry.

Mr David Hilditch left the meeting at 1.10pm.

The draft title for the inquiry was discussed and an amendment was proposed by Mr. William Humphrey and seconded by Mr Gordon Dunne. The Committee voted on the amended title:

Aves - 4

Noes - 3

#### Abstentions - 1 Non-Voters - 0

Ayes:

Mr. Nelson McCausland

Mr .Gordon Dunne

Mr. William Humphrey

Mr. Leslie Cree

Noes:

Ms. Rosaleen McCorley Mrs. Karen McKevitt Mr. Oliver McMullan

Abstentions:

Mr. Basil McCrea

### The motion was passed.

Mr William Humphrey left the meeting at 1.33pm.

Mr William Humphrey re-joined the meeting at 1.34pm.

Mr David Hilditch re-joined the meeting at 1.34pm.

The Committee voted on the objective of the inquiry as drafted:

Aves - 5

Noes - 4

**Abstentions - 0** 

Non-Voters - 0

Ayes:

Mr. Nelson McCausland

Mr .Gordon Dunne

Mr. William Humphrey

Mr. Leslie Cree

Mr. David Hilditch

Noes:

Ms. Rosaleen McCorley

Mrs. Karen McKevitt

Mr. Oliver McMullan

Mr. Basil McCrea

### The motion was passed.

Section 1 of the Terms of Reference was agreed as drafted.

Section 2 of the Terms of Reference was discussed and an amended text was proposed by Mr. Basil McCrea and seconded by Mr. David Hilditch. The Committee voted on the amended Section 2:

Ayes - 6

Noes - 3

**Abstentions - 0** 

Non-Voters - 0

#### Ayes:

Mr. Nelson McCausland

Mr. Gordon Dunne

Mr. William Humphrey

Mr. Leslie Cree

Mr. David Hilditch

Mr. Basil McCrea

#### Noes:

Ms. Rosaleen McCorley

Mrs. Karen McKevitt

Mr. Oliver McMullan

#### The motion was passed.

The Committee voted on Section 3 of the Terms of Reference as drafted:

Ayes - 6

Noes - 3

**Abstentions - 0** 

Non-Voters - 0

#### Ayes:

Mr. Nelson McCausland

Mr. Gordon Dunne

Mr. William Humphrey

Mr. Leslie Cree

Mr. David Hilditch

Mr. Basil McCrea

#### Noes:

Ms. Rosaleen McCorley

Mrs. Karen McKevitt

Mr. Oliver McMullan

#### The motion was passed.

Mr. Basil McCrea left the meeting at 2.15pm.

Mr. Gordon Dunne left the meeting at 2.21pm.

Mrs. Rosaleen McCorley left the meeting at 2.25pm

Agreed: Members agreed that a list of potential witnesses and papers would be brought to the Committee for approval.

Noted: Members noted a forward work programme for the inquiry.

# 3. Any Other Business

There was no other business raised

# 4. Date, Time and Place of next Meeting

The next meeting of the Committee for Culture, Arts and Leisure will take place in Room 30, Parliament Buildings on Thursday 21<sup>st</sup> May 2015 at 10am.

# 5. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 2.27pm.

Mr. Nelson McCausland

Chairperson, Committee for Culture, Arts and Leisure

Thursday 21<sup>st</sup> May 2015