COMMITTEE FOR CULTURE, ARTS AND LEISURE

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

Thursday 3rd July 2014

Skainos Centre, Belfast

Present: Miss Michelle McIlveen MLA (Chairperson)

Mr William Irwin MLA (Deputy Chairperson)

Ms Rosaleen McCorley MLA Mr Oliver McMullan MLA Mr William Humphrey MLA Mr David Hilditch MLA Mr Basil McCrea MLA Mr Dominic Bradley MLA Mr Cathal Ó hOisín MLA

Apologies: Mrs Karen McKevitt MLA

In attendance: Mr Peter Hall (Clerk)

Mr James Gilsenan (Assistant Clerk) Mr Jonathan Lamont (Clerical Supervisor) Mr Malcolm Collins (Clerical Officer)

The Committee opened in public session at 10:16 am.

1. Oral Briefing from Northern Ireland Theatre Association on Inquiry into Inclusion in the Arts of Working Class Communities

The following witness joined the meeting at 10:26 am

Mr Ciaran McAuley, NITA Board Member, (Lyric Theatre)

Ms Emma Jordan, NITA Vice Chair, (Prime Cut Production

Ms Emma Jordan, NITA Vice Chair, (Prime Cut Productions)

Ms Ali Fitzgibbon, NITA Member (Young at Art Children's Festival) Mr John Davison, NITA Board Member, (Terra Nova Productions)

The witness briefed the Committee.

A question and answer session followed

Agreed: The Committee agreed to ask Belfast City Council to brief the Committee.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to invite NILGA to brief the Committee.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to seek arts and drama funding information from the Department for Education.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to ask Dr Hull to prepare a Briefing Paper on the range of foundations and trusts which provide funding for the Arts in Northern Ireland.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to seek information regarding the level of signposting for arts activities undertaken by Tourism Information centres in the various council areas.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to seek an update from the Replay Theatre Company on the BLISS project.

2. Oral Briefing from etcetera theatre company on Inquiry into Inclusion in the Arts of Working Class Communities

The following witnesses joined the meeting at 12:06 am.

Mr Chris Hudson, Chairperson, etcetera theatre company Mr Connal Parr, Board Member, etcetera theatre company Mr William Mitchell, Artistic Director, etcetera theatre company

The witnesses briefed the Committee.

A question and answer session followed.

[Extract]