

Northern Ireland Assembly

ASSEMBLY AND EXECUTIVE REVIEW COMMITTEE

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

TUESDAY 3 NOVEMBER 2015, ROOM 21, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS, BALLYMISCAW, STORMONT

Present: Mr Stephen Moutray (Chairperson)

Mr Pat Sheehan (Deputy Chairperson)

Ms Paula Bradley Mr Gregory Campbell Mr Danny Kennedy Mr Trevor Lunn

Mr Raymond McCartney

Mr Séan Rogers Mr Alastair Ross Ms Caitríona Ruane

In Attendance: Ms Claire McCanny (Senior Assistant Assembly Clerk)

Ms Amy Barr (Assembly Bursary Student)

Mr Jim Nulty (Clerical Supervisor)

The meeting opened at 10.04am in public session.

1. Apologies

None

2. Draft Minutes

Agreed: The Committee agreed the minutes of the Committee meeting held on Tuesday 20 October 2015.

Mr Danny Kennedy joined the meeting at 10.05am

3. Matters Arising

The Chair advised the Committee that the notes from the Politics Plus session facilitated by Daniel Greenberg had been prepared and issued to Members. As agreed by the Committee at its previous meeting, a letter had been sent to the Bill's Sponsor, Mr John McCallister, inviting him to respond to a number of points raised during the Politics Plus session.

Agreed: The Committee agreed that it would invite Mr McCallister to present and discuss his response at the next Committee meeting on 10 November 2015.

4. Assembly and Executive Reform Bill (Assembly Opposition) Bill – Briefing by Professor Chris McCrudden and Dr Alex Schwartz, School of Law, Queens University Belfast.

Professor Mc Crudden and Dr Alex Schwartz joined the meeting at 10.05am

Mr Pat Sheehan joined the meeting at 10.06am Ms Catríona Ruane and Mr Raymond Mc Cartney joined the meeting at 10.07am Mr Gregory Campbell joined the meeting at 10.15am

Professor Mc Crudden and Dr Alex Schwartz presented their paper on the Assembly and Executive Reform (Assembly Opposition) Bill. This was followed by a question and answer session on a number of matters including the proposed renaming of the Office of the First Minister and deputy First Minister, the proposal to make Northern Ireland Departments a single legal entity, the election of the Speaker and the implications of the Bill on the existing constitutional arrangements in Northern Ireland.

Mr Raymond Mc Cartney and Mr Alastair Ross left the meeting at 10.26am

Professor Mc Crudden and Dr Alex Schwartz left the meeting at 10.30am Mr Trevor Lunn left the meeting at 10.30am Mr Stephen Moutray (Chairperson) left the meeting at 10.31am and Mr Pat Sheehan (Deputy Chairperson) took the Chair at 10.31am

5. Assembly and Executive Reform Bill (Assembly Opposition) Bill – Briefing by Dr Eoin O'Malley, School of Law and Government, Dublin City University.

Dr O'Malley joined the meeting at 10.32am

Dr Eoin O'Malley presented his paper on the Assembly and Executive Reform (Assembly Opposition) Bill. This was followed by a question and answer session on a number of matters including collective cabinet government, coalition government and the role of technical groups and independents in Dáil Éireann.

Dr. O'Malley left the meeting at 11.04am

6. Forward Work Programme

Members considered the revised draft Forward Work Programme.

Agreed: The Committee agreed the revised Forward Work Programme

7. Any Other Business

The Deputy Chairperson reminded Members that the Committee motion seeking extension of the Committee Stage of the Bill is scheduled to be moved on Monday 9 November 2015. The Chair will move the motion on behalf of the Committee.

There were no other items of business.

8. Date, Time and Place of Next Meeting

The next meeting will take place on Tuesday 10 November 2015 at 10.00am in Room 21.

The Deputy Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 11.06am

Mr Stephen Moutray, Chairperson Assembly and Executive Review Committee