

Northern Ireland Assembly

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

TUESDAY 24 FEBRUARY 2015, ROOM 21, PARLIAMENT BUILDINGS, BALLYMISCAW, STORMONT

Present: Mr Stephen Moutray (Chairperson)

Mr Pat Sheehan (Deputy Chairperson)

Ms Paula Bradley Mr Gregory Campbell Mr Trevor Lunn

Mr Raymond McCartney

Mr Alastair Ross Ms Caitríona Ruane Ms Robin Swann

In Attendance: Ms Claire McCanny (Senior Assistant Assembly Clerk)

Ms Kate McCullough (Assistant Assembly Clerk)

Mr Jim Nulty (Clerical Supervisor)

The meeting opened at 10.12am in public session.

1. Apologies

Seán Rogers

Trevor Lunn joined the meeting at 10.13am

Gregory Campbell joined the meeting at 10.13am

Alastair Ross joined the meeting at 10.13am

2. Minutes of the last meeting

The Committee agreed the minutes of the meeting held on Tuesday 17 February 2015.

3. Matters Arising

Members considered a change of date to the plenary debate on the Report on Women in Politics and the Northern Ireland Assembly.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to change the date of the plenary debate on the Report on Women in Politics and the Northern Ireland Assembly, subject to Executive business.

4. Report on the Operation of the Provisions of Parts III and IV of the NI Act 1998 – Committee Consideration

Members considered sections 16, 16A to 16C and 29B of Parts 3 of the NI Act 1998. In doing so the Committee noted the Clerk's briefing paper, an Assembly Research paper and conclusions from AERC's previous report on the Review of Sections 16A -16C of the NI Act.

Caitríona Ruane left the meeting at 10.15am.

Robin Swann joined the meeting at 10.26am

Agreed: The Committee agreed that it should return to consider issues relating to the nomenclature and the method of election of the First Minister and deputy First Minister following the publication of the May 2015 Report.

Agreed: The Committee agreed that it had reviewed sections 16A to 16C and 29B of as part of its statutory obligation to report on the operation of the provisions of Parts III and IV of the NI Act 1998.

Members considered sections 30-30B of Part 3 of the NI Act 1998.

Agreed: The Committee agreed to seek clarification on section 30(5) and to discuss at the next meeting.

Members considered sections 17-19A and section 29 of Part III of the NI Act 1998. In doing so the Committee noted the Clerk's briefing paper, an Assembly Research paper and conclusions from AERC's previous reports on the Review of D'Hondt, Community Designation and Provisions for Review and the Review on the Number of Members in the Northern Ireland Assembly. The Committee also noted the conclusions from a Report by the Committee Review Group on the Review of the Committee System of the NI Assembly.

Agreed: The Committee agreed that the Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson should arrange to meet with the First Minister and deputy First Minister. The purpose of the meeting would be to discuss the Stormont House Agreement and its impact on the work of the Assembly and Executive Review Committee.

Agreed: The Committee agreed that it had reviewed sections 17-19A and section 29 as part of its statutory obligation to report on the operation of the provisions of Parts III and IV of the NI Act 1998 of the NI Act 1998.

Stephen Moutray joined the meeting at 10.50am

Members considered sections 20, 28A to 28E of Part III of the NI Act 1998. In doing so the Committee noted the Clerk's briefing paper and the findings in the Assembly Research paper.

Agreed: The Committee agreed that it should return to consider sections 28A and 28D of the NI Act 1998 following the publication of the May 2015 Report.

Agreed: The Committee agreed that it had reviewed sections 20, 28A to 28E as part of its statutory obligation to report on the operation of the provisions of Parts III and IV of the NI Act 1998 of the NI Act 1998.

5. Forward Work Programme

Agreed: The Committee agreed the Forward Work Programme.

6. Any Other Business

None

7. Date, Time and Place of Next Meeting

The next meeting will be on Tuesday 3 March 2015 at 10.00am in Room 21.

The Chairperson adjourned the meeting at 11.00am

Mr Stephen Moutray, Chairperson Assembly and Executive Review Committee